SA Schools and SA Academy Teams Announced

Jul 16 • Craven Week, SA Schools Team, School • 3687 Views • No Comments on SA Schools and SA Academy Teams Announced

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Jan Serfontein in Photo for Rugby15 by Denese Lups


The South African Rugby Union (SARU) on Saturday announced the players selected to the SA Schools and SA Academy Teams for 2011. These squads will compete in two international friendlies against a France Invitational squad in August.


Golden Lions U18 captain Ruan Steenkamp will captain the SA Schools team which includes nine players that competed in the final match of the Coca-Cola Under-18 Craven Week at GWK Park in Kimberley.


The SA Schools Team will be coached by the Pumas U18 coach Poerie van Rooyen while Eastern Province Kenneth Joseph was named as the Assistant coach. Gert Tsotetsi (Valke) was named as the Team Manager of the SA Schools side for 2011.


The SA Academy team will take on the French Invitational XV in a curtain raiser to the Castle Tri-Nations match between the Springboks and Australia in Durban on the 13 August 2011. The SA Schools team will play the second international friendly against the French in Port Elizabeth in the curtain raiser match in preparation of the Springbok’s clash against the All Blacks at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on the 20 August 2011.


Golden Lions flanker Willie Newman will captain the SA Academy team which includes the talented Western Province centre paring of Edwin Sass and John Kotze. The Eastern Province and Golden Lions U18 Academy teams makes up the bulk of the 22-man squad while the successful WP Under-18 Academy team boasts four players in the squad.


The SA Academy Team will be coached by the Blue Bulls U18 Academy coach Bart Schoeman while Griquas’ Joseph Jafta named as the Assistant coach. Dean Moodley (KwaZulu Natal) was named as the Team Manager of the SA Academy side for 2011.


The Free State U18s claimed the top honours at the 2011 Coca-Cola Under-18 Craven Week following their 28-17 victory against the Golden Lions U18s in the last match played at GWK Park in Kimberley. The Griffons U18s, together with the Bloemfontein team, were the only two undefeated teams of the tournament. The team from Welkom secured a 34-28 victory over the Valke in a fixture played on the B Field at GWK Park.


The Pumas consigned DHL Western Province to their second defeat of the Coca-Cola Under-18 Craven Week following their 39-34 victory over the Cape team, while the KwaZulu Natal failed to stop the challenge of the Blue Bulls who went on to claim a 29-8 win in the penultimate match of the day.


SA Schools Team for 2011:

Player Province
Dries Swanepoel (v/c) Free State
Jaco van der Walt Golden Lions
Jan Serfontein Free State
Nhlanhla Hlongwane Free State
Percey Williams South Western Districts
Ruwellyn Isbell Free State
Sean Robinson Blue Bulls
Siyabonga Tom KwaZulu Natal
Timothy Swiel Western Province
Tyler Fisher KwaZulu Natal
Player Province
Andrew Beerwinkel Boland
Eugene Le Maitre Golden Lions
Irne Herbst Blue Bulls
Jacques du Plessis Pumas
Leneve Damens Free State
Marne Coetzee Blue Bulls
Morne du Plessis Blue Bulls
Philip du Preez Golden Lions
Pierre Schoeman Blue Bulls
Ruan Steenkamp (captain) Golden Lions
Sikumbuzo Notshe Western Province
Thabo Mabuza Blue Bulls

Head Coach: Poerie van Rooyen (Pumas)

Assistant coach: Kenneth Joseph (Eastern Province)

Team Manager: Gert Tsotetsi (Valke)


SA Academy Team for 2011:

15. Lorenzo Baaitjies (Eastern Province)

14. Gideon Meiring (Golden Lions)

13. Edwin Sass (Western Province)

12.John Kotze (Western Province)

11. Suprise Mayekiso (Golden Lions)

10. Dalton Kannemeyer (Western Province)

9. Cyprial Mkhabela (KwaZulu Natal)

8. Niklaas Rossouw (Boland)

7. Malcolm Marx (Golden Lions)

6. Willie Newman (Golden Lions)

5. Armand du Preez (Eastern Province)

4. Stefan Vermeulen (Golden Lions)

3. Bart le Roux (Eastern Province)

2. Chadley Wenn (Boland)

1. Matthew Jones (KwaZulu Natal)



16. Hewson Petersen (Western Province)

17. Siwa Mandlakhe (Eastern Province)

18. Luan de Bruin (Blue Bulls)

19. Tienie Burger (Free State)

20. Balunga Mbangi (Eastern Province)

21. Damian Engledoe (Boland)

22. Linden Rhode (South West Districts)


Head Coach: Bart Schoeman (Blue Bulls)

Assistant coach: Joseph Jafta (Griquas)

Team Manager: Dean Moodley (KwaZulu Natal)

Related Posts