Australian U20’s team named for opening Oceania Rugby Junior Championship clash

Apr 30 • Australia, General News, International • 1385 Views • No Comments on Australian U20’s team named for opening Oceania Rugby Junior Championship clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Australian U20’s side to play Samoa has been named as the Australian side looks to start the Oceania Rugby Junior Championship off with a win against Pacific heavy weights, Samoa.

Australian U20’s Head Coach, Adrian Thompson was happy with the progression of his young charges in camp.  

“The squad has already gelled together really well and we are looking forward to our first match against Samoa.

“The team we’ve picked has a lot of developing experience with Andrew Deegan to be our starting flyhalf after a successful tournament at the National U20’s Championship.

“We expect a tough physical battle up front from the Samoans and our forwards will need to be ready for that challenge.”  

The Australian U20’s side will play Samoa at Bond University on the Gold Coast with kick off at 3pm.

In the first match of the Oceania Rugby Junior Championship Japan will challenge New Zealand with the match to kick off at Bond University at 1pm.

The matches will also be streamed through

Australian U20’s team to play Samoa:
1.Cameron Orr
2. Connal McInerney
3. Tyrell Lomax
4. Ned Hannigan
5. Riley Winter
6. Brad Wilkin (vc)
7. Michael Gunn
8. Lolo Fakaosilea
9. James Tuttle
10. Andrew Deegan
11. Jack Redden
12. Duncan Paia’aua
13. Andrew Kellaway (c)
14. Christian Yassmin
15. Alex Newsome

16.Folau Faingaa
17. Aaron Pleash
18.Fereti Saaga
19. Lukhan Lealaiauloto-Tui
20. Olly Kamp
21. Harry Nucifora
22. James Dalgleish
23. Tyson Davis   

With injuries impacting the side heading into the tournament there has been some changes to the original squad with Harry Jones and Campbell Magnay succumbing to injury through Club Rugby.  

Melbourne Rebels flyer Jonah Placid is currently unavailable due to a groin strain.

Australian U20’s Updated Squad:

First name Surname Club State
Cameron Orr West Harbour NSW
Folau Faingaa Sydney University  NSW
Matthew Sandell Sydney University NSW
Ned Hanigan Randwick NSW
Harrison Williams Sydney University NSW
Olly Kamp Randwick NSW
Andrew Deegan Randwick NSW
Andrew Kellaway Randwick NSW
Alex Newsome Eastern Suburbs NSW
Lukhan Lealaiauloto-Tui Randwick NSW
Mitch Third Sunnybank QLD
Jack Redden Sydney University NSW
Aaron Pleash University of QLD QLD
Adam Korczyk University of QLD QLD
Lolo Fakaosilea Sunnybank QLD
Michael Gunn Easts QLD
Duncan Paia’aua GPS QLD
James Dalgleish University of QLD QLD
James Tuttle GPS QLD
Tyson Davis Warringah NSW
Harry Nucifora Bond University QLD
Brad Wilkin Easts QLD
Connal McInerney Tuggeranong ACT
Tyrell Lomax Tuggeranong ACT
Riley Winter Wests Scarborough WA
Hayden Anderson Wests Scarborough WA
Fereti Saaga Melbourne Uni VIC
Sione Tuipolotu Southern Districts VIC
Christian Yassmin Sydney Uni NSW

Related Posts