WP logo

Backline shuffle for DHL WP

Oct 19 • ABSA Currie Cup, General News • 2618 Views • No Comments on Backline shuffle for DHL WP

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

DHL Western Province have made some changes to the backline for the Currie Cup semifinal against Xerox Golden Lions at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

There are three positional switches in the backline and just one change to the forward pack for the knock-out clash, which kicks off at 17h00 on Saturday.

Dillyn Leyds moves from wing to fullback, with Ruhan Nel taking his place out wide and EW Viljoen back in midfield alongside Huw Jones.

This means that Damian Willemse and Werner Kok feature on the replacements bench along with scrumhalf Jano Vermaak who returns from injury.

Flank Kobus van Dyk is the only change to the forward pack which started in the win against the Cell C Sharks in Durban last week, with props Ali Vermaak and Frans van Wyk both among the replacements.

DHL Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that his team are determined to make the most of home advantage at DHL Newlands.

“It is going to be a special occasion for everyone involved with a Currie Cup home semifinal at DHL Newlands so we are looking forward to it.

“The players have worked incredibly hard to get to this point and now the challenge is to make the most of this opportunity,” he said.

DHL Newlands season tickets are valid for the Currie Cup semifinal, with match tickets available from wprugby.computicket.com or any Computicket outlet.

DHL Western Province: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Ruhan Nel, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Frans van Wyk, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Jano Vermaak, 22 Werner Kok, 23 Damian Willemse.

Related Posts