Benetton Rugby team to face Zebre Rugby Club

Dec 23 • General News, Guinness Pro14 • 2342 Views • No Comments on Benetton Rugby team to face Zebre Rugby Club

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Benetton Rugby prepares to face Zebre in the first of the three derby matches of the season. The first derby is on the 11th round of the Guinness PRO14 2017/2018.

The match will be staged at the Stadio Monigo on Saturday 23 December at 3.00 pm. Italian referee Marius Mitrea and assistants Manuel Bottino and Andrea Piardi will direct the game.

Coach Kieran Crowley said: ” It is great that both Italian teams – Benetton and Zebre, are being more competitive this year in the Pro 14, and playing some good rugby. This game is always one that is looked forward too by all the players and fans so hopefully it lives up to that expectation. We as a team have prepared well this week and are really looking forward to the challenge that Zebre will bring on Saturday”

At the end of the captain’s run held this morning at the sports center of “La Ghirada”, the staff announced the 23 Lions included in the team sheet for tomorrow.

Full back will be Jayden Hayward, on the wings Angelo Esposito and Monty Ioane. Ignacio Brex and Alberto Sgarbi will be respectively right and left centre.

The half backs are Tito Tebaldi at scrum half and Marty Banks at fly-half.

The front row will consist of Nicola Quaglio, Tomas Baravalle and Tiziano Pasquali.

Locks will be Alessandro Zanni and captain Dean Budd. Finally, the back row sees Whetu Douglas, Abraham Steyn and Robert Barbieri completing the XV chosen by Crowley.


Benetton Rugby:

15 Jayden Hayward,

14 Angelo Esposito,

13 Ignacio Brex,

12 Alberto Sgarbi,

11 Monty Ioane,

10 Marty Banks,

9 Tito Tebaldi,

8 Robert Barbieri,

7 Abraham Steyn,

6 Whetu Douglas,

5 Dean Budd (C),

4 Alessandro Zanni,

3 Tiziano Pasquali,

2 Tomas Baravalle,

1 Nicola Quaglio


Replacements: 16 Hame Faiva, 17 Federico Zani, 18 Cherif Traore, 19 Federico Ruzza, 20 Marco Barbini, 21 Edoardo Gori, 22 Ian McKinley, 23 Tommaso Benvenuti


Head Coach: Kieran Crowley


Unavailable: Simone Ferrari, Ornel Gega, Engjel Makelara, Nasi Manu, Francesco Minto, Marco Riccioni, Michael Tagicakibau.

Related Posts