BMW Australia U20s name squad for World Rugby U20s Championship

May 8 • General News, International • 1126 Views • No Comments on BMW Australia U20s name squad for World Rugby U20s Championship

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The BMW Australia U20s squad to represent Australia at the upcoming World Rugby U20s Championship in Georgia this June has been named with a string of Aussie 7s stars and Super Rugby players coming into the squad.

Head Coach Simon Cron has named Qantas Australia Men’s Sevens players Simon Kennewell, Liam McNamara, Henry Hutchison and Lachie Anderson to join the Aussie U20s, adding some extra speed and ability in the backs for the young men in gold.

Joining from Super Rugby will be Izaia Perese who has been in stellar form for the Queensland Reds alongside fellow Queenslander, Hamish Stewart. Sione Tuipulotu, Jack Maddocks, Jordan Uelese and Harrison Goddard will join the side from the Melbourne Rebels. Sham Vui from the Western Force and Rob Valentini from the Brumbies rounds out the Super Rugby contingent.

Australia will face off against Wales, Samoa and England in Pool A of the tournament.

BMW Australia U20s Head Coach, Simon Cron said: “We have a number of our players involved in Super Rugby this season and we are looking forward to getting those players involved as soon as possible.

“The Australian Sevens contingent still have a final two tournaments so those players will join us in Georgia. They will all have high aerobic and anaerobic capacities which are essential during a world cup campaign.

“Our performances against New Zealand, Samoa and Fiji highlighted a number of key areas we need to work on in our sessions. Some rugby brains, in regards to game management, is a key, as well as the execution of catch and pass skills while running so these will be high on our priority list.”

The squad will come together at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra on Wednesday, May 10 for a final camp before Australia heads to Tbilisi, Georgia for the tournament.

To increase playing depth and have players prepared if called on for injury cover there will be a number of extended squad members who will attend the preparation camp in Canberra in continuing their development as an Australian U20s player. These players include Harry Chapman, Vaauli Faamausili, Angus Allan, Theo Strang, Alex Horan, Isaac Lucas, Tony Hunt, Will Eadie, James Ramm and Jayden Ngamanu.

2017 BMW Australia U20s Squad for the World Rugby U20s Championship:
Cody Walker, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Easts
Harry Johnson-Holmes, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Sydney University
Shambecklar Vui, Western Force, University of WA
Gavin Luka, Queensland U20s, Bond University
Jordan Uelese, Melbourne Rebels, Melbourne University
Efi Maafu, Queensland U20s, Wests
Sama Malolo, Western Force U20s, Wests Scarborough
Ryan McCauley, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Easts
Harry Hockings, Queensland U20s, University of Queensland
Angus Blyth, Queensland U20s, Bond University
Angus Scott-Young, Queensland U20s, University of Queensland
Liam Wright, Queensland U20s, Easts
Reece Hewat, Queensland U20s, Norths
Lachlan Anderson, Australian Sevens
Rob Valetini, Brumbies, Wests
Lachlan Swinton, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Sydney University
Harry Nucifora, Queensland U20s, Bond University
Harrison Goddard, Melbourne Rebels U20s, Randwick
Hamish Stewart, Queensland Reds, Bond University
Liam McNamara, Australian Sevens, Sunnybank
Sione Tuipulotu, Melbourne Rebels U20s, Southern Districts
Nick Jooste, Brumbies U20s, Wests
Izaia Perese, Queensland Reds, Easts
Jack Maddocks, Melbourne Rebels, Powerhouse
Semisi Tupou, Melbourne Rebels U20s, Box Hill
Dylan Riley, Queensland U20s, Bond University
Henry Hutchison, Australian Sevens, Randwick
Simon Kennewell, Australian Sevens Randwick

Related Posts