BNZ Crusaders named to play Chiefs in historical Fijian match

Jun 29 • General News, Super Rugby • 3019 Views • No Comments on BNZ Crusaders named to play Chiefs in historical Fijian match

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The BNZ Crusaders team has been named to play the Chiefs in Suva on Friday night.  This match is a first for the Investec Super Rugby competition, with the National Stadium in Suva hosting this inaugural match. This match carries additional significance as it doubles as a clash between the top two teams in the New Zealand conference.


BNZ Crusaders Head Coach, Todd Blackadder, has named a near full strength side with seven returning All Blacks in the 23, the only omissions are Ryan Crotty and Luke Romano, who are out through injury.


Both Mitchell Hunt and Jed Brown feature in the 23 for the first time, and will potentially make their debuts from the reserves bench.


The match will be played at ANZ National Stadium, Suva, and will kickoff at 7.35pm.


BNZ Crusaders team to play the Chiefs – 7.35pm, Friday 1 July 2016:


Starting XV                              Reserves

  1. Wyatt Crockett                      16. Ben Funnell
  2. Codie Taylor                         17. Joe Moody
  3. Owen Franks                       18. Mike Alaalatoa
  4. Scott Barrett                         19. Jimmy Tupou
  5. Samuel Whitelock                20. Jed Brown
  6. Jordan Taufua                      21. Mitchell Drummond
  7. Matt Todd                             22. Mitchell Hunt
  8. Kieran Read (c)                    23. Sean Wainui
  9. Andy Ellis
  10. Richie Mo’unga
  11. Nemani Nadolo
  12. David Havili
  13. Kieron Fonotia
  14. Jone Macilai
  15. Israel Dagg


Related Posts