Aug 29 • General News, Mitre 10 Cup • 2465 Views • No Comments on BUILDCORP NRC – WEEK 2: PERTH SPIRIT V BRISBANE CITY

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Perth Spirit will be chasing back-to-back victories in the Buildcorp National Rugby Championship (NRC) season when they host Brisbane City in their first home match at McGillivray Oval on Sunday afternoon.

Western Force and Wallabies representatives, Matt Hodgson and Pek Cowan, have been named in a side with a strong Western Force contingent that also includes Kyle Godwin and Luke Morahan, both of whom are returning from injury.

Cottesloe No. 8, Ross Haylett-Petty will make his debut for the Spirit, packing down alongside Hodgson and Brynard Stander on the flanks. Haylett-Petty’s brother Dane has been named at fullback and Round One try-scorer Dillyn Leyds has moved to flyhalf.

Brisbane City has made five changes to their side that defeated the Sydney Stars, 45-20, including the addition of Queensland Reds and former Wallabies captain, James Horwill, to the second row. University of Queensland’s premiership-winning captain Tim Buchanan has replaced the injured Jake Schatz at No. 8 and former Australian Under 20s prop Phil Kite will make his debut at tighthead prop.

In the backs, Rex Tapuai comes off the bench at inside centre, moving Samu Kerevi to outside centre, and Matthew Feaunati replaces the inured Brando Va’aulu at fullback.

Tickets are available now through Ticketmaster here or at the gate.
Adults – $15 (Children aged 0-17 accompanied by a ticket-buying adult will be admitted free-of-charge)
Concession – $10
Unaccompanied Junior (under 17 or under) tickets $5.

Three-game packages to attend all home matches are also available here
Adults save $15, concession $10 and junior (unaccompanied 17 and under) $5.
Packages can only be bought online prior to Sunday’s match.

Perth Spirit v Brisbane City
McGillivray Oval, Mt Claremont
Sunday, 31 August, 2014
Time: 3.30pm (AWST)
Coverage: Live match updates available on Twitter (@PerthSpirit) with half-time/full-time scores available on Facebook (
Weather Forecast: Min: 10C Max: 18C Partly cloudy. High chance of showers in the morning, clearing to the afternoon.
Official Twitter hashtag: #PERvBRI

Perth Spirit: 1. Pek Cowan, 2. Heath Tessmann, 3. Tetera Faulkner, 4. Sam Wykes (c), 5. Rory Walton, 6. Brynard Stander, 7. Matt Hodgson, 8. Ross Haylett-Petty, 9. Justin Turner, 10. Dillyn Leyds, 11. Marcel Brache, 12. Kyle Godwin, 13. Junior Rasolea, 14. Luke Morahan, 15. Dane Haylett-Petty. Reserves: 16. Robbie Abel, 17. Francois van Wyk, 18. Oliver Hoskins, 19. Corey Thomas, 20. Richard Hardwick, 21. Ian Prior, 22. Zack Holmes, 23. Va’a Mailei

Brisbane City: 1. Pettowa Paraka, 2. Andrew Ready, 3. Phil Kite, 4. Marco Kotze, 5. James Horwill, 6. Dave McDuling, 7. Michael Gunn, 8. Tim Buchanan, 9. Nick Frisby, 10. Jake McIntyre, 11. Harry Parker, 12. Rex Tapuai, 13. Samu Kerevi, 14. Chris Kuridrani, 15. Matthew Feaunati, Reserves 16. David Feao, 17. Matt Mafi, 18. Sam Talakai, 19. Brad Wilkin, 20. Adam Korczyk, 21. Jack Mullins, 22. James Dalgleish, 23. Toby White.

Referee: Graham Cooper

Curtain Raiser
Bankwest Juniors – Under 17 Gold Grand Final
Kick-off: 2pm
Joondalup v Palmyra

Related Posts