Mar 4 • Australia, General News, International, National, Womens Rugby • 531 Views • No Comments on BUILDCORP WALLAROOS SQUAD CONFIRMED FOR 2021 CAMPAIGN

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Buildcorp Wallaroos will kick off their 2021 season next week, convening at the Australian Institute of Sport in the nation’s capital on Monday (8th) for their opening camp of the year.

Following the news of the likely postponement of the Rugby World Cup 2021 to next year, the Wallaroos will now have an additional year to prepare, with a revised program and Test match schedule for 2021 being drawn up for the team.

Head Coach Dwayne Nestor has named two new members to the training squad following on from the December camp, with previous Wallaroos captain Liz Patu and newcomer Bridie O’Gorman brought into the squad.

O’Gorman caught the selectors attention at the NSW Chikarovski Cup late last year while Patu makes a much antitipated return to the national side.

Encouragingly several players will also be back in full training mode, after recovering from injury, including former Australian Sevens player and Wallaroo Mahalia Murphy.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach Dwayne Nestor said: “It’s fantastic to get the squad together this early in the year as we look to continue our Rugby World Cup preparations, albeit a year later.

“We were fortunate to host a camp late in 2020 when all the borders opened, and next week’s camp will look to build on everything we worked on last year.

“These camps are invaluable in continuing to build belief in what we are doing. The players thrive in an environment where they can come together and be united whilst pushing each other to be better.”

“It’s about earning respect as a squad but also individually by developing this never give up attitude irrespective of what else is happening in the world,” Nestor said.

2021 Buildcorp Wallaroos Training Squad:
Iliseva Batibasaga, NSW Waratahs
Emily Chancellor, NSW Waratahs
Bree-Anna Cheatham, Queensland Reds
Georgia Cormick, Melbourne Rebels
Lori Cramer, NSW Waratahs
Piper Duck, NSW Waratahs
Anita Faimasui-Brown, NSW Waratahs
Georgina Friedrichs, NSW Waratahs
Aleena Greenhalgh, Queensland Reds
Grace Hamilton, NSW Waratahs
Ariana Hira-Herangi, Western Force
Fiona Jones, NSW Waratahs
Eva Karpani, NSW Waratahs
Grace Kemp, Brumbies
Atasi Lafai, NSW Waratahs
Michaela Leonard, Brumbies
Lucy Lockhart, Queensland Reds
Nareta Marsters, Queensland Reds
Lillyann Mason, NSW Waratahs
Jemima McCalman, NSW Waratahs
Arabella McKenzie, NSW Waratahs
Michelle Milward, Brumbies
Tiarah Minns, Melbourne Rebels
Averyl Mitchell, Queensland Reds
Layne Morgan, NSW Waratahs
Mahalia Murphy, NSW Waratahs
Sera Naiqama, NSW Waratahs
Bridie O’Gorman, NSW Waratahs
Liz Patu, Queensland Reds
Gabby Petersen, Brumbies
Pauline Piliae, NSW Waratahs
Trilleen Pomare, Western Force
Oneata Schwalger, NSW Waratahs
Christina Sekona, Queensland Reds
Cecilia Smith, Queensland Reds
Tayla Stanford, Brumbies
Maya Stewart, NSW Waratahs
Adiana Talakai, NSW Waratahs
Ashleigh Walker, Melbourne Rebels

Related Posts