Canterbury team to play Hawke’s Bay

Sep 9 • General News, International • 961 Views • No Comments on Canterbury team to play Hawke’s Bay

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Canterbury are back at home this weekend to play Hawke’s Bay at AMI Stadium.  Head Coach Scott Robertson has made seven changes to the starting line-up that beat Northland last weekend.

In the forwards, Nathan Vella will start at hooker this week and Ben Funnell shifts to the reserves.  Scott Barrett pairs up with Dominic Bird at lock and David McDuling will prepare to make his Canterbury debut from off the bench.

Jack Stratton gets his first start at halfback with Mitchell Drummond out for the season with a broken leg.  Ere Enari will provide halfback cover.

Richie Mo’unga returns to the 10 jersey this week, and Rob Thompson will play outside him at second five.  Johnny McNicholl moves back to the wing and Jordie Barrett steps into the fullback spot.  Nathan Earle and Ben Volavola join Enari as backs cover in the reserves.

Kick-off is at 2:35pm this Sunday and families are encouraged to get there early and enjoy the free entertainment and free lunch for children at the FreshChoice Kids Zone in Addington Raceway.  This match is the ‘BLK Club Day’, with match day sponsors BLK providing tickets to rugby clubs around the region, and a march past by approximately 350 rugby players representing 30 rugby clubs before the game.  Pre-match entertainment will also include a curtain raiser from Saracens and New Brighton Under 10 teams, and a Kapa Haka performance from Cashmere Primary School as part of the Canterbury Rugby Adopt a School programme.

Tickets are available through Ticket Direct – or phone 0800 224 224.

Canterbury team to play Hawke’s Bay: 


1.  Daniel Lienert-Brown RESERVES
2.  Nathan Vella 16. Ben Funnell
3.  Siate Tokolahi 17. Alex Hodgman
4.  Scott Barrett 18. Oliver Jager
5.  Dominic Bird 19. David McDuling (D)
6.  Tom Sanders 20. Reed Prinsep
7.  Matt Todd (VC) 21. Ere Enari
8.  Luke Whitelock (Captain) 22. Nathan Earle
9.  Jack Stratton 23. Ben Volavola
10. Richie Mo’unga  
11. George Bridge  
12. Rob Thompson  
13. Jack Goodhue  
14. Johnny McNicholl (VC)  
15. Jordie Barrett  


(D) = Canterbury debut

Related Posts