Cell C Sharks return to Carling Currie Cup

May 5 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa, South Africa • 232 Views • No Comments on Cell C Sharks return to Carling Currie Cup

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Cell C Sharks return to Carling Currie Cup action on Friday evening when they host the Airlink Pumas in a second-round clash at Hollywoodbets Kings Park.

With the previous match against the Vodacom Blue Bulls cancelled following the flooding that devastated the province of KZN, it has been a month since their previous game, a tough 13-6 away win against the Windhoek Lager Griquas on 6 April.

With the two log points granted to both sides in the cancelled match against the Bulls, the Cell C Sharks currently occupy third spot on the log with 24 points, nine clear of Pumas who they defeated 24-10 in the first round match at Mbombela Stadium in early March.

Head coach Etienne Fynn has the good fortune to name a number of VURC players who haven’t received much game time in that competition and their experience will no doubt bolster the side in the run-in to the play-offs.

Hooker Kerron van Vuuren replaces Fez Mbatha while Ruben van Heerden comes in for Emile van Heerden in the second row where he restores his partnership with Hyron Andrews. Jeandre Labuschange for Dylan Richardson and Sikhumbuzo Notshe taking over from Celimpilo Gumede at eighthman complete the changes amongst the forwards.

In a re-jigged backline, Boeta Chamberlain gets a start at 10 with Tito Bonilla moving to the bench while Marnus Potgieter shifts from outside centre to the wing to partner, Anthony Volmink on the left wing, with Jeremy Ward named at 13 to partner Ethan Fisher in the midfield.

In the final change to the starting line-up, recently signed Varsity Cup backline star Nevaldo Fleurs is named at fullback.

Cell C Sharks

  1. Dian Bleuler
  2. Kerron van Vuuren
  3. Wiehahn Herbst
  4. Ruben van Heerden
  5. Hyron Andrews
  6. James Venter (c)
  7. Jeandre Labuschagne
  8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
  9. Cameron Wright
  10. Boeta Chamberlain
  11. Anthony Volmink
  12. Ethan Fisher
  13. Jeremy Ward
  14. Marnus Potgieter
  15. Nevaldo Fleurs*


  1. Fez Mbatha
  2. Khwezi Mona
  3. Lourens Adriaanse
  4. Emile van Heerden
  5. Dylan Richardson
  6. Thembelani Bholi
  7. Zee Mkhabela*
  8. Tito Bonilla

*Denotes debut for the Cell C Sharks.

Related Posts