Cell C Sharks team named to take on the DHL Stormers at Hollywoodbets Kings Park

Jan 27 • General News, International, National, South Africa, South Africa, United Rugby Championship • 330 Views • No Comments on Cell C Sharks team named to take on the DHL Stormers at Hollywoodbets Kings Park

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Cell C Sharks team named to take on the DHL Stormers at Hollywoodbets Kings Park on Saturday shows just two changes to the side that defeated the Emirates Lions last week.

Being able to select an almost identical side regularly allows for great continuity from a team with high performance and success aspirations and the fact that the Vodacom United Rugby Championship is now firmly on track, means continuity in play and personnel feature prominently in the coaching set-up.

There have been just two changes announced by Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt who has the pleasure of bringing back the Springbok duo of Siya Kolisi and Bongi Mbonambi to the starting line-up. The rest of the match 23 remains unchanged.

The Springbok captain and hooker return to play against their former side, with Kolisi replacing James Venter on the side of the scrum and Mbonambi starting for Kerron van Vuuren at hooker.

This match is equally important for the result needed as the performance required. Last week’s victory was an important one away from home and Everitt will be looking for more of the same from his players.

To bring energy and intensity in the heat and humidity of Durban and maintaining an exciting brand of rugby that thrills the fans and rewards the team.

“The positives from last week were the opportunities we created, and I was happy with the quick attack and the way we were able to move the ball and the continuity we got from that; the offloads in the build-up to some of the tries was also really pleasing,” explained Everitt.

“And we also managed the game well at times and that was why we came out on top.”

Cell C Sharks

  1. Ox Nche
  2. Bongi Mbonambi
  3. Thomas du Toit (v/c)
  4. Ruben van Heerden
  5. Hyron Andrews
  6. Siya Kolisi
  7. Jeandre Labuschagne
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi
  9. Grant Williams
  10. Boeta Chamberlain
  11. Makazole Mapimpi
  12. Ben Tapuai
  13. Lukhanyo Am (c)
  14. Sbu Nkosi
  15. Aphelele Fassi


  1. Kerron van Vuuren
  2. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  3. Khutha Mchunu
  4. Reniel Hugo
  5. Henco Venter
  6. Jaden Hendrikse
  7. Tito Bonilla
  8. Jeremy Ward

Related Posts