Cell C Sharks Team to face the Vodacom Bulls

Jan 29 • General News, International, National, South Africa, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 731 Views • No Comments on Cell C Sharks Team to face the Vodacom Bulls

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Date: Friday, 31 January 2020
Time: 19h10
Venue: Jonsson Kings Park, Durban
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper, Egon Seconds
Television Match Official: Marius Jonker

Centre Lukhanyo Am leads an exciting Cell C Sharks’ team in their opening Vodacom Super Rugby clash with the Vodacom Bulls at Jonsson Kings Park on Friday evening.

The team closely resembles the starting line-up that took on the Stormers in the Superhero Sunday preseason warm-up match, with a number of players set to make their debut in the black and white jersey.

Making their run-on debuts are three forwards, loosehead prop Ox Nche, flank James Venter and eighthman Sikumbuzo Notshe, who all made the move to Durban late last year. Le Roux Roets (lock) and Henco Venter (loose forward) – also new signings – together with local talents who performed in last year’s Currie Cup, scrumhalf Sanele Nohamba and flyhalf Boeta Chamberlain, play off the bench.

“There’s a strong vibe in the camp and we’re all looking forward to Super Rugby kicking off,” Cell C Sharks flyhalf Curwin Bosch admits.

With Bosch settled in the number 10 jersey, he recognises this as an opportunity to entrench himself. “For me to grow in confidence at 10, I need game time there, that’s how a player gets better and I’m really looking forward to it.”

Opposite him is 35-year-old Springbok Morne Steyn who returns to Pretoria after a stint of French rugby and Bosch admits that Steyn will be an important factor for the men in blue.

“Morne brings a lot of experience to his side, they’ve lost quite a few players overseas and because he’s such a good kicker, we know our discipline and game management need to be really sharp this weekend.

But we’re going into this weekend’s game with a plan and if we stick to it, we should be successful.”

Cell C Sharks

  1. Aphelele Fassi
  2. Sbu Nkosi
  3. Lukhanyo Am (c)
  4. Andre Esterhuizen
  5. Makazole Mapimpi
  6. Curwin Bosch
  7. Louis Schreuder
  8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe**
  9. Tyler Paul
  10. James Venter**
  11. Hyron Andrews
  12. Ruben van Heerden
  13. Thomas du Toit
  14. Kerron van Vuuren
  15. Ox Nche**


  1. Craig Burden
  2. Juan Schoeman
  3. John-Hubert Meyer
  4. Le Roux Roets*
  5. Henco Venter**
  6. Sanele Nohamba*
  7. Boeta Chamberlain*
  8. Jeremy Ward

*Denotes that these following players will be making their Vodacom Super Rugby debuts.
**Denotes that these players will be playing their first match in a Cell C Sharks jersey.

Home Matchday Ticket Prices
Western Lower R140
All other stands R110
Scholars R60 (all zones except the gold zone)

Tickets can be purchased via The Sharks Ticket Office, www.sharksrugby.co.za or at The Sharks merchandise kiosk at the Pavilion Shopping Centre (fountain court 2, cinema level).

Related Posts