Cell C Sharks vs. DHL Western Province

Jul 18 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa • 567 Views • No Comments on Cell C Sharks vs. DHL Western Province

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Date: Saturday, 20th July 2019
Time: 14h00
Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant Referees: Paul Mente, Vusi Msibi
Television Match Official: Marius Jonker

The Cell C Sharks side named to take on Western Province in Saturday’s round two Currie Cup clash has just one change as the coaching staff look to grow and develop the team without disruption.

Losing in the first round was not how the script was written, but it’s important not to lose sight of what this campaign is all about and the need to grow and play an exciting and effective style of rugby that produces the results.

Cell C Sharks prop Juan Schoeman admits that last week’s match, “Definitely wasn’t the start we wanted. But no excuses and we’re up for this week’s game, ready to give our best performance.”

A week can be a long-time in rugby, but it gives the team the opportunity to turn things around.

“It was a major wake-up call for us and we know that as long as the work we put in this week is better than last week, then we know we will keep growing,” he adds.

Derby matches between the Cell C Sharks and Western Province have always been massive tussles and Schoeman expects nothing different on Saturday.

“It’s always a physical battle upfront – they out scrummed the Bulls – and they have fluid backs, we need to make sure we give our best performance and play to our strengths as well. We believe we are a better team that how we played against Griquas, we got a shock and need to make sure that we use it as a learning curve for the next battle.”

The only change from last week’s team made by head coach Sean Everitt sees Rhyno Smith coming in for Aphelele Fassi at fullback with Fassi playing off the bench.

Cell C Sharks
1. Juan Schoeman
2. Kerron van Vuuren
3. Coenie Oosthuizen
4. Ruben van Heerden
5. Hyron Andrews
6. Luke Stringer
7. Jacques Vermeulen
8. Tera Mtembu (co-captain)
9. Cameron Wright
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Lwazi Mvovo
12. Jeremy Ward (co-captain)
13. JP Pietersen
14. Kobus van Wyk
15. Rhyno Smith

16. Craig Burden
17. Mzamo Majola
18. John-Hubert Meyer
19. Gideon Koegelenberg
20. Phepsi Buthelezi
21. Sanele Nohamba
22. Marius Louw
23. Aphelele Fassi

Related Posts