Cell C Sharks vs. Highlanders

May 4 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 1655 Views • No Comments on Cell C Sharks vs. Highlanders

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Date Saturday, 5th May 2018
Time 17h15
Referee Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referee AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni
Television Match Official Christie du Preez

Beast Mtawarira makes a welcome return to the Cell C Sharks side named to take on the Highlanders in the Vodacom Super Rugby clash at JONSSON KINGS PARK on Saturday at 17h15.

The big man’s experience cannot be denied over a period spanning more than a decade, but it must be said that the player who deputised for him, Juan Schoeman, has been outstanding when called on.

The other change to the front row sees Akker van der Merwe coming in for Chiliboy Ralepelle at hooker, while Stephan Lewies makes way for Tyler Paul in a rotational change at lock.

The rest of the pack, as well as the entire backline, remain unchanged from the side that defeated the Stormers two weeks ago.

The Highlanders’ last gasp victory over the Vodacom Bulls at Loftus last weekend – in extra time – will have given the Southern-most New Zealand team plenty of confidence going into this fixture.  However, the Cell C Sharks will look to punish any overconfidence they might arrive in Durban with.

The visitors will certainly take confidence from their log position – currently fifth on the overall log – showing that they are well on track for a top eight finish and a place in the knock-out rounds.

For the Cell C Sharks, a battle royale on the South African Conference means that this game has plenty riding on the outcome, especially if the team can show the kind of determination and fortitude that was on show against the Stormers.
Cell C Sharks
15. Curwin Bosch
14. Sbu Nkosi
13. Lukhanyo Am
12. Andre Esterhuizen
11. Makazole Mapimpi
10. Robert du Preez
9. Cameron Wright
8. Daniel du Preez
7. Jean-Luc du Preez
6. Philip van der Walt
5. Ruan Botha (c)
4. Tyler Paul
3. Thomas du Toit
2. Akker van der Merwe
1. Tendai Mtawarira

16. Franco Marais
17. Juan Schoeman
18. Ross Geldenhuys
19. Stephan Lewies
20. Jacques Vermeulen
21. Louis Schreuder
22. Marius Louw
23. Lwazi Mvovo

Related Posts