Cell C Sharks vs Rebels

Mar 21 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 356 Views • No Comments on Cell C Sharks vs Rebels

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Date:Saturday, 23rd March 2019
Referee:Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Referees:Archie Sehlako, Griffin Colby
Television Match Official:Marius Jonker

 The Cell C Sharks welcome the Rebels to JONSSON KINGS PARK on Saturday in a sixth round Vodacom Super Rugby clash that holds great importance for both sides.

The Rebels and the Cell C Sharks have both suffered defeats in the previous round and neither will want to follow up with a consecutive loss.  The Rebels will also hope to take some points out of their trip to South Africa after conceding a 33-5 lead over the Emirates Lions that resulted in a 36-33 loss.

Head coach Robert du Preez has made a few changes to his side, Ruben van Heerden and Hyron Andrews pairing up in the second row while Phepsi Buthelezi is given a welcome start at flank.

Andre Esterhuizen reverts back at inside centre while Aphelele Fassi is back in the side after taking a knock against the DHL Stormers and replaces Rhyno Smith at fullback.

There is a welcome return for Craig Burden who played hooker for the Cell C Sharks between 2006 and 2013 before embarking on a five-year career in France, representing Toulon, Montpellier and Stade Français.  He has been named as a replacement for Akker van der Merwe.

Luke Stringer is set to make his Vodacom Super Rugby debut off the bench as the replacement flank.  Marius Louw also features on the bench.

Esterhuizen, who watched much of the previous game from the side-lines can’t wait to get stuck in.

“We need to get back on track and get some log points. Obviously, we were disappointed in the last two performances, but we’ve had time to reflect and this week has been about working hard on the training pitch with the emphasis on ball retention and getting back to physicality.”

Cell C Sharks
15. Aphelele Fassi
14. Sbu Nkosi
13. Lukhanyo Am
12. Andre Esterhuizen
11. Makazole Mapimpi
10. Robert du Preez
9. Louis Schreuder (c)
8. Daniel du Preez
7. Jacques Vermeulen
6. Phepsi Buthelezi
5. Hyron Andrews
4. Ruben van Heerden
3. Coenie Oosthuizen
2. Akker van der Merwe
1. Tendai Mtawarira

16. Craig Burden
17. Juan Schoeman
18. Thomas du Toit
19. Gideon Koegelenberg
20. Luke Stringer *
21. Grant Williams
22. Marius Louw
23. Curwin Bosch

Related Posts