Cell C Sharks vs Xerox Golden Lions

Oct 18 • Currie Cup, General News • 1172 Views • No Comments on Cell C Sharks vs Xerox Golden Lions

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Date Saturday, 20 October 2018
Time 14h30
Referee Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees AJ Jacobs, Jaco Pretorius
Television Match Official Christie du Preez


The 126th anniversary of the first staging of the Currie Cup competition winds towards a climax as four teams go head to head in this year’s semi-finals, with the Cell C Sharks hosting the Xerox Golden Lions at JONSSON KINGS PARK on Saturday.

After finishing second on the overall log, the Cell C Sharks earned the honour of a home semi-final where we host the Xerox Golden Lions who finished in third spot on the log. Eventual log leaders, DHL Western Province, will host the Vodacom Blue Bulls in the second semi-final.

Since the inaugural season in 1892, seven teams have won the competition, with the Cell C Sharks taking the title seven times, the most recent, a 2013 victory over Western Province in Cape Town.

But all that history is behind us as the Cell C Sharks prepare for a Golden Lions side that last left Durban off the back of a 37-21 defeat at JONSSON KINGS PARK.  Almost a month (to the day) later, the Lions return for a mouth-watering semi-final fixture.

Head coach Robert du Preez has stuck largely with the side he named last week. After being named to start against Griquas but then pulling out late, Thomas du Toit and Daniel du Preez return in the tighthead prop and eighthman positions respectively.

Marius Louw is back at inside centre and Robert du Preez returns to the flyhalf position, with Curwin Bosch reverting back to fullback.

The stage is set for an enticing encounter between two great sides.

Cell C Sharks
15. Curwin Bosch
14. Sbu Nkosi
13. Jeremy Ward
12. Marius Louw
11. Lwazi Mvovo
10. Robert du Preez
9. Louis Schreuder (c)
8. Daniel du Preez
7. Tyler Paul
6. Jacques Vermeulen
5. Hyron Andrews
4. Gideon Koegelenberg
3. Thomas du Toit
2. Akker van der Merwe
1. Juan Schoeman

16. Chiliboy Ralepelle
17. Mzamo Majola
18. Coenie Oosthuizen
19. Luke Stringer
20. Jean-Luc du Preez
21. Cameron Wright
22. Leolin Zas
23. Aphelele Fassi

Related Posts