Changes up front for DHL WP

May 2 • General News, SuperSport Challenge • 563 Views • No Comments on Changes up front for DHL WP

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

There are three changes to the DHL Western Province forward pack for their SuperSport Rugby Challenge encounter with Border in East London on Saturday.

Head Coach Jerome Paarwater’s team will be looking to make it two consecutive victories in East London, following their 62-7 win against SWD on Sunday, when they take on hosts Border at the Old Selbornians Rugby Club at 16h00 on Saturday.

The backline is unchanged from the combination that featured in the victory against SWD last week, while there are three changes and two positional switches in the forward pack.

Hooker Chad Solomon comes in to start and in the second row Jordan Sesink-Clee makes a first start, with Ben-Jason Dixon moving to blindside flank.

Dixon is joined in the loose trio by openside flank Chris Massyn and Marno Redelinghuys, who shifts to No.8.

Paarwater said that his team is focused on building on their opening performance.

“With a few players joining the DHL Stormers in Argentina, we had to make a few changes up front, but we have kept some good continuity in the backline.

“We want to see a little bit more fluency in the combinations as we seek to keep improving every week,” he said.

DHL Western Province: 
15 Craig Barry (captain), 14 Nico Leonard, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Lyle Hendricks, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Abner van Reenen, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Marno Redelinghuys, 7 Ben-Jason Dixon, 6 Chris Massyn, 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Jordan Sesink-Clee, 3 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 Kwenzo Blose.

16 Chadley Wenn, 17 Liam Hendricks, 18 Brandon Valentyn, 19 Dian Koen, 20 Deon Carstens, 21 Cornel Smit, 22 Sihle Njezula.

Related Posts