Consistent FNB Maties see off FNB Tuks 49-11 to reach final

Apr 5 • General News, Varsity & Club, Varsity Cup • 2557 Views • No Comments on Consistent FNB Maties see off FNB Tuks 49-11 to reach final

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 3.00 out of 5)

Photo: Lindley Larry


The FNB Maties beat the FNB UP Tuks 49-11 on Monday evening in the second semi-final to reach the 2016 Varsity Cup final, which will be hosted by FNB Maties at the Danie Craven Stadium on Monday 11 April. They will play FNB NWU Pukke who beat FNB UJ earlier on Monday.

FNB Maties started the match well and took a 19-0 lead into the first strategy break. Wingers, Edwill van der Merwe and Brandon Asher-Wood scored for the home side as they made earlier dominance into the FNB Tuks pack.

FNB Tuks centre, Dries Swanepoel scored a nine-point try for FNB Tuks after an error by the FNB Maties, before Beyers de Villiers got one back for the men from Stellenbosch. FNB Maties led 29-11 at the break.
The second half was much tighter as FNB Maties continued to be more clinical. De Villiers went over after the back of a powerful maul again as FNB Maties started to create distance between them and FNB Tuks.

Scrumhalf, Remu Malan made sure of the result when he went over six minutes before fulltime. Flyhalf Ernst Stapelberg was on song with the boot as he steered FNB Maties throughout the match as FNB Maties clinched the match 49-11.

Player That Rocks: Remu Malan (FNB Maties)

FNB Maties: 49
Seven-point tries: Brandon Asher-Wood
Five-point tries: Edwill van der Merwe, Beyers de Villiers (2), Remu Malan
Cons: Ernst Stapelberg (5)
Pens: Ernst Stapelberg (4)

FNB Tuks: 11
Nine-point tries: Dries Swanepoel
Cons: Joshua Stander

FNB Maties: 15 Craig Barry, 14 Brandon Asher-Wood, 13 Paul Streicher, 12 Chris Smit, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Kobus van Dyk, 7 Janco Venter, 6 Beyers de Villiers ©, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 JE van der Merwe, 2 Freddie Kirsten, 1 Niel Oelofse
16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Wesley Adonis, 18 Sidney Labuschagne, 19 Saud Abrahams 20 Bjorn Bernardo, 21 Chris Smith, 22 Carlisle Nel, 23 Frederik Kleinhans
FNB Tuks: 15 Duncan Matthews, 14 Riaan Britz, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Toko Maebane, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Joshua Stander, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Clyde Davids, 7 Ludolf Eksteen, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Colin Snyman, 4 Aston Fortuin, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Corniel Els, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel
16 Johannes Binneman, 17 Du Toit Genis, 18 Pieter Janse van Vuuren, 19 Luke van der Smit, 20 Carlo Engelbrecht, 21 Herbert de Beer, 22 Keenan van Wyk, 23 Justin Forwood

Varsity Cup Final Fixture – 11 April 2016

Build-up starts at 18h30, kick off at 19h00 – FNB Maties v FNB NWU-Pukke at Danie Craven Rugby Stadium, Stellenbosch – Live on SS1

Tickets available through Webtickets.

Related Posts