Mar 26 • General News, Super Rugby • 3649 Views • No Comments on DEYSEL RETURNS TO CAPTAIN SHARKS AGAINST THE FORCE

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Cell C Sharks team to take on the Western Force on Saturday at Growthpoint KINGS PARK sees a number of changes to the side that defeated the Chiefs at the same venue last weekend.

Due to the suspension of Bismarck du Plessis, Jean Deysel who returns to the side in the absence of Marcell Coetzee who is being rested, will captain the team for this match. The good news is that Mouritz Botha and Beast Mtawarira, both of whom took heavy blows from the Chiefs, have been passed fit to play.  Kyle Cooper taking over at hooker is the only other change amongst the forwards.

Backline changes have been made in the midfield, the resting of Springboks Cobus Reinach and Pat Lambie have necessitated a new halfback pairing for the first time this season, Conrad Hoffmann taking over at scrumhalf and Frans Steyn shifting from centre to flyhalf.  Andre Esterhuizen earns his second start, he will partner JP Pietersen from inside centre.

These two teams have met on eight occasions, but it is The Sharks who hold the upper hand, having won seven of them, including a six match winning streak stretching back to 2007.

The Cell C Sharks

15. SP Marais
14. Odwa Ndungane
13. JP Pietersen
12. Andre Esterhuizen
11. Lwazi Mvovo
10. Frans Steyn
9. Conrad Hoffmann
8. Ryan Kankowski
7. Jean Deysel (Captain)
6. Renaldo Bothma
5. Marco Wentzel
4. Mouritz Botha
3. Jannie du Plessis
2. Kyle Cooper
1. Tendai Mtawarira

16. Monde Hadebe
17. Thomas du Toit
18. Lourens Adriaanse
19. Lubabalo Mtyanda
20. Daniel du Preez
21. Stefan Ungerer
22. Fred Zeilinga
23. Waylon Murray

Related Posts