WP logo

DHL Newlands stage for DHL WP U19

Oct 19 • ABSA Currie Cup, General News • 2431 Views • No Comments on DHL Newlands stage for DHL WP U19

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

DHL Western Province U19 will face Toyota Free State Cheetahs U19 in their semifinal clash which will be played as a curtain-raiser for the Currie Cup semifinal at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

DHL Western Province U19 topped the standings, having claimed 11 wins from their 12 matches in the regular season and will face the fourth-placed visitors from the Free State in a clash that kicks off at 14h30 on Saturday.

Captain Salmaan Moerat leads a settled side that has performed well as a unit all season, scoring 529 points including 76 tries and conceding just 176 for a points difference of 353.

Centre and vice-captain Lyle Hendricks, who is also the goalkicker, is third on the list of top points-scorers this season, with 115 points to his name, while powerful wing Christian Ambadiang is second on the list of top tryscorers with 14 five-pointers.

DHL Western Province U19 Head Coach Nazeem Adams said that his team are determined to make the most of the opportunity tio play at DHL Newlands in the semifinal.

“It will be a special experience for the players, a chance for them to build on all of the hard work they have put in this season.

“It is pleasing that we have been so consistent, but we also need to ensure that we are as accurate as possible in the play-offs,” he said.

DHL Newlands season tickets are valid for the Currie Cup semifinal, with match tickets available from wprugby.computicket.com or any Computicket outlet.

DHL Western Province U19: 15 Marko Labuschagne, 14 Christian Ambadiang, 13 Lyle Hendricks, 12 Henlo Marias, 11 Mike Mavovana, 10 Wian van Zyl, 9 Labib Kannemeyer, 8 Muller Uys, 7 Shaine Orderson, 6 Charl Serdyn, 5 BJ Dixon , 4 Salmaan Moerat (captain), 3 Sazi Sandi, 2 Schalk Erasmus, 1 Leon Lyons.
Replacements: 16 Daniel Jooste, 17 Reece Buizendenhout, 18 Adam Neethling, 19 Bernard Jansen, 20 Regardt du Plessis, 21 Deon Carstens, 22 Francke Botha, 23 Sako Makata.

Related Posts