DHL WP change four for DHL Newlands semifinal

Oct 18 • Currie Cup, General News • 1568 Views • No Comments on DHL WP change four for DHL Newlands semifinal

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

There are four changes and a positional shift in the DHL Western Province starting line-up for the Currie Cup semifinal against Vodacom Blue Bulls at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

Fullback Dillyn Leyds and No.8 Juarno Agustus make their return from injury in the North-South knock-out clash which kicks off at 17h00 on Saturday, while centre Dan Kriel and hooker Bongi Mbonambi come in after being rested last week.

Leyds has overcome a calf niggle and starts at fullback, with Damian Willemse switching to flyhalf as a result and Kriel resuming his midfield partnership with Ruhan Nel.

In the forward pack Augustus comes in for Sikhumbuzo Notshe, who is battling an injury, with Mbonambi slotting into the front row.

DHL Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that his side are looking forward to playing a home semifinal at DHL Newlands.

“We have worked hard this season to earn the right to play at DHL Newlands this weekend, so we intend to make the most of that opportunity.

“It was tough to select this team, with some quality players left out, but we are very excited to see what they are capable of in what is obviously a big game,” he said.

Tickets for the Currie Cup semifinal start at just R20 for scholars and R50 for standing room, up to R175 for prime seats. Tickets are available from all Computicket outlets, the stadium box office annd online at

DHL Western Province:

15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 SP Marais, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Kobus van Dyk, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ali Vermaak.

16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Jaco Coetzee, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Josh Stander, 23 JJ Engelbrecht.

Related Posts