Eddie Jones names England team to play Scotland

Feb 22 • General News, Six Nations, Six Nations News • 4517 Views • No Comments on Eddie Jones names England team to play Scotland

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

England head coach Eddie Jones has made one change to his starting line up to play Scotland on Saturday at Murrayfield (KO 4:45pm) in the NatWest 6 Nations.

Nathan Hughes (Wasps) returns to the side at No 8 for the first time this year following a knee injury he picked up in December.

Joe Launchbury (Wasps) will play in his 50th game for England having made his debut for his country against Fiji in 2012.

Captain Dylan Hartley will become England’s second most capped player of all time when he steps out for the 92nd time on Saturday. Hartley will surpass Jonny Wilkinson on 91 caps and now only sits behind Jason Leonard (114).

Joe Marler (Harlequins) is named as a finisher following his suspension.

Eddie Jones said: “We are really excited about this game and we will need to be very tough and relentless in our defence to keep the pressure on this Scottish team.

“They are renowned for their attack so we will need to put pressure on them, create opportunities through our defence for our attack, and convert those opportunities to points.

“Our preparation over the last two weeks has been important in that it has allowed us to regenerate the players, improve the fitness of some and to get a clear understanding on how we will play this weekend.

“Nathan Hughes has worked hard on his fitness. I’ve never seen him in better physical condition, so we are looking forward to him playing. Nathan has a key role in defence and in us gaining momentum in attack.”

Jones added on Launchbury’s milestone: “For any player to play 50 caps for their country is a wonderful achievement. Joe has worked really hard to improve and is such an important player for us.”


Team to play Scotland

Starting 15

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins 66 caps)

14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 30 caps)

13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 37 caps)

12 Owen Farrell (Saracens 55 caps)

11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers 31 caps)

10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 42 caps)

9 Danny Care (Harlequins 78 caps)


1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 46 caps)

2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 91 caps)

3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 79 caps)

4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 49 caps)

5 Maro Itoje (Saracens 16 caps)

6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 63 caps)

7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 61 caps)

8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps 12 caps)



16 Jamie George (Saracens 22 caps)

17 Joe Marler (Harlequins 53 caps)

18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 7 caps)

19 George Kruis (Saracens 23 caps)

20 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby 5 caps)

21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens 28 caps)

22 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors 10 caps)

23 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs 25 caps)

Related Posts