England U18s name squad for South Africa tour

Aug 4 • General News, International, South Africa, South Africa u18 • 2370 Views • No Comments on England U18s name squad for South Africa tour

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

England U18s have named their squad ahead of a three-match tour of South Africa.

The U18s will face France U18 (12 August), South Africa Schools A (16 August) and South Africa Schools (20 August).

“The tour gives us an opportunity to play in the Southern Hemisphere in a different environment and against a very tough opposition,” said Rugby Football Union national academy development manager John Fletcher.

“It also gives this group of players an opportunity to bond and for us to see how they adapt away from home.”

The squad will be captained by Harlequins wing Gabriel Ibitoye for the tour.

“He is one of our more experienced players, he has good energy and in terms of how we want to play and express ourselves, Gabriel epitomises that every time he goes onto the field,” added Fletcher.

“There will be different challenges as the opposition will pose different problems, our aim is to adapt and come up with the solutions to those problems.

“We will stick to our principles in defence and attack and we expect the players to adapt on the field. The plan is to give the players a full tour experience, which is crucial to their development.”

The U18 squad will be coached by Fletcher, Peter Walton, Mark Luffman and Russell Earnshaw, and supported by Richard Hill, who mentors a number of the U18 squad. As part of the progression through the national age grade programme, Martin Haag and Rory Teague from the U20 management team will attend some of the tour and watch all of the games.


France U18 (Friday, 12 August) 11am BST

South Africa Schools A (Tuesday, 16 August) 1.30pm BST

South Africa Schools (Saturday, 20 August) 1.15pm BST

England   U18 South Africa 2016
First   Name Surname Academy School
Josh Bayliss Bath Rugby Millfield School
Jamie Blamire Newcastle Falcons Gosforth Academy
Rory Brand London Irish Wellington College
Ratu   Joe Cokanasiga London Irish Bushe Academy
Ben Curry Sale Sharks Oundle School
Tom Curry Sale Sharks Oundle School
Levi Davis Unattached Denstone College
Ali Crossdale Saracens Sedbergh School
James Grayson Northampton Saints Moulton College
Ted Hill Worcester Warriors Worcester College
Gabriel Ibitoye Harlequins Trinity
Ciaran Knight Gloucester Rugby St Peters
Dino Lamb-Cona Harlequins Cranleigh
Jarod Leat Wasps St Pauls Catholic College
Ben Loader London Irish Wellington College
Sam Moore Sale Sharks Sedbergh School
Oli Morris Saracens New Hall
Ehren Painter Northampton Saints Felsted
Tom Parton London Irish Wellington College
Alex Seville Gloucester Rugby Hartpury College
Jacob Umaga Wasps Wyggeston & QEI College
Henry Walker Gloucester Rugby Bromsgrove   School
Harry Simmons Leicester Tigers Gresham School
Matt Williams London Irish Wellington College
Josh Williams Newcastle Falcons Hartlepool Sixth Form College
Tom Willis Wasps The Henley College

Related Posts