England U20 Elite Player Squad 2017/18 Announced

Jan 5 • General News, Six Nations, Six Nations News • 4273 Views • No Comments on England U20 Elite Player Squad 2017/18 Announced

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

England U20s have named their 32-man Elite Player Squad for the 2017/18 season.

The squad, which will compete in the 2018 Six Nations as well as the World Rugby U20 Championship in May, will be led by Steve Bates and fellow coaches Anthony Allen, Richard Blaze and James Ponton.

Of the 32 players, 14 have already been capped at U20 level with several a part of last season’s Grand Slam winning side.

The squad includes 10 members of the group that reached the final of the World Rugby U20 Championship in Georgia, eventually losing to New Zealand, including Alex Seville, Marcus Street, Henry Walker, Dino Lamb, Ben Earl, James Grayson, Will Butler, Gabriel Ibitoye, Ali Crossdale and Tom Parton.

Ben Curry, who was part of England’s senior squad that toured Argentina in the summer, is also named in the 32.

Eight members of the England U18 squad that toured South Africa in the summer have been selected with Joe Heyes, Beck Cutting, James Scott, Josh Basham, Sam Moore, Tom Willis, Tom Seabrook and Fraser Dingwall all included. Marcus Smith, Nick Isiekwe and currently injured Tom Curry, who are all still eligible to play for the U20s, are not included due to their involvement with the England senior squad.

England open their U20 Six Nations campaign against Italy (2 February) before a home game against Wales in Newcastle (9 February).

They then play Scotland in Edinburgh (23 February), France in Beziers (9 March) and will end their campaign against Ireland at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry (16 March).

The squad will come together for a training camp at Bisham Abbey Sports Centre from 7-12 January before the Six Nations begins.

Anthony Allen, Richard Blaze and James Ponton have joined the U20 set up as part of the coach development programme agreement signed between the RFU and Premiership Rugby.

Head coach Steve Bates said: “By naming the squad in January we’ve been able to pick players who have been performing well in the first half of the season. We have some injury issues but I think we’ve got a really exciting squad with players who have played a good amount of rugby.

“Our experienced players are going to be hugely influential as we don’t have much time together ahead of the Six Nations. The players who know what to expect will be important as they will have an impact on the playing style as well as getting the group together off the pitch and integrating everyone as quickly as possible.

“I expect us to be physical, uncompromising and we’ll play high-intensity, high-tempo rugby. We’ve got some very exciting young backs so if we can create some space for them we’ll be a threat. That is what we’re concentrating on.

“This is a new group of players with new coaches also so although we head into the Six Nations as defending champions we do not carry the pressure of that tag. We have a proud history in the tournament but we will be looking to create our own legacy with what is a new set up.

“We’ve got some talented guys who will push hard to make that step up to the senior side in the future and that shows the strength of the pathway. We’ve had a wider group of around 60 players that we’ve cut to 45 and now 32.

“There are a lot of good players who won’t be in the squad so that shows the strength in depth too.”


England U20 EPS Squad 2017/18


Josh Basham (London Irish)

Ben Curry (Sale Sharks)

Beck Cutting (Worcester Warriors)

Ben Earl (Saracens)

Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers)

Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors)

Dino Lamb (Harlequins)

Sam Lewis (Leicester Tigers) S

am Moore (Sale Sharks)

Joe Morris (Worcester Warriors)

Gabriel Oghre (Wasps)

James Scott (Worcester Warriors)

Alex Seville (Gloucester)

Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs)

Toby Trinder (Northampton Saints)

Henry Walker (Gloucester)

Tom Willis (Wasps)



Rory Brand (London Irish)

Will Butler (Worcester Warriors)

Aaron Chapman (Bristol)

Ali Crossdale (Saracens)

Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints)

James Grayson (Northampton Saints)

Tom Hardwick (Leicester Tigers)

Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins)

Ben Loader (London Irish)

Jordan Olowofela (Leicester Tigers)

Tom Parton (London Irish)

Tom Seabrook (Gloucester)

Joe Snow (Exeter Chiefs)

Ben White (Leicester Tigers)

Matt Williams (London Irish)

Related Posts