England v Scotland – Guinness Six Nations

Feb 4 • General News, Guinness Six Nations, International • 545 Views • No Comments on England v Scotland – Guinness Six Nations

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Eddie Jones has named his England side for their opening 2021 Guinness Six Nations match this weekend.

England will take on Scotland at Twickenham Stadium, in the Calcutta Cup, on Saturday 6 February (4.45pm KO).

The game marks the 150-year anniversary of the fixture, after the first ever international rugby Test match was played between the two nations at Raeburn Place, Edinburgh in 1871.

Owen Farrell, who will captain England throughout the championship, is at fly half and the team’s most experienced player Ben Youngs is set to make his 105th cap, at scrum half.

Elliot Daly is at full back, Anthony Watson is at right wing and Jonny May on the left wing. Ollie Lawrence (inside) and Henry Slade (outside) will start as centres.

In the forward pack, Ellis Genge will play loose-head prop and Will Stuart at tight-head prop, with hooker Jamie George in the front row. Locks Maro Itoje and Jonny Hill make up the tight five.

Mark Wilson returns at blind-side flanker, Tom Curry is positioned as open-side flanker with Billy Vunipola at No. 8.

Beno Obano could make his England debut after being named as a finisher and there is a return from injury for Courtney Lawes. Luke Cowan-Dickie, Ben Earl, George Ford, Max Malins, Dan Robson and Harry Williams are also named as finishers.

Jones said: “We’re really looking forward to this game and getting the Guinness Six Nations back underway. It’s even more special to be taking part in a 150th anniversary game, it will be a good occasion.

“It was difficult to pick the 23 players. We’ve had a really good week of training, it’s been very competitive but I’ve gone with what I feel is the strongest 23 for this week.

“The Six Nations is a short tournament, it’s a real sprint so we’ll need to be on the front foot straight away. We know Scotland will be raring to go – but so will we.”

England v Scotland is live on ITV 1 and BBC Radio 5 Live.

England XV Starters

  1. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 47 caps)
  2. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 46 caps)
  3. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 34 caps)
  4. Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors, 3 caps)
  5. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 61 caps)
  6. Owen Farrell (C) (Saracens, 88 caps)
  7. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 104 caps)
  8. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 23 caps)
  9. Jamie George (Saracens, 54 caps)
  10. Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 8 caps)
  11. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 43 caps)
  12. Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 4 caps)
  13. Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 19 caps)
  14. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 28 caps)
  15. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 56 caps)


  1. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 26 caps)
  2. Beno Obano (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
  3. Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 18 caps)
  4. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 85 caps)
  5. Ben Earl (Bristol Bears, 8 caps)
  6. Dan Robson (Wasps, 7 caps)
  7. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 72 caps)
  8. Max Malins (Bristol Bears, 3 caps)

Related Posts