England Women Sevens squad named for Cape Town

Dec 12 • General News, International, Sevens Rugby, Sevens World Series • 1111 Views • No Comments on England Women Sevens squad named for Cape Town

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Head coach Charlie Hayter has named his England women sevens squad for the HSBC Cape Town Sevens.

There’s a return for Beth Wilcock, who missed last weekend’s tournament in Dubai due to illness while Katie Mason (Wasps FC Ladies/Lions Sports Academy) is once again included.

England take on Australia and the USA before being reunited with Ireland, who they overcame in the ninth place play-off last weekend.

Heather Fisher, Amy Wilson Hardy and Deborah Fleming [x2] all crossed in that victory and the experienced trio are selected for the maiden women’s tournament at the Cape Town Stadium.

Hayter said: “We’ve had an amazing welcome here this week, the locals have been great in making us feel unbelievably welcome and there’s a buzz around the tournament this weekend.

“We can’t wait to get out there and play in front of the crowd.

“In terms of building from Dubai, it’s great for us to have another opportunity to right some of the wrongs from last week and keep learning and progressing on the journey we’re on this year.”

Squad list

Abbie Brown (C)
Abi Burton
Heather Fisher
Deborah Fleming
Megan Jones
Alex Matthews
Katie Mason (Wasps FC Ladies/Lions Sports Academy)
Jodie Ounsley
Celia Quansah
Emma Uren
Beth Wilcock
Amy Wilson Hardy

13th player: Helena Rowland


Friday 13 December
v Australia Women 7s [Pool C – 14.00pm local time/12.00pm GMT]

Saturday 14 December
v USA Women 7s [Pool C – 09.07am local time/07.07am GMT]
v Ireland Women 7s [Pool C – 14.35pm local time/12.35pm GMT]

All matches will be shown live on Sky Sports Action.

Related Posts