EP Kings team announced against the Griffons

Jul 3 • Currie Cup F.Div, Currie Cup F.Div News, General News • 2832 Views • No Comments on EP Kings team announced against the Griffons

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

The Eastern Province Rugby team that will take on the Griffons on Saturday has been announced, as the team looks to improve on their poor start to the season against the Steval Pumas.

“After last week’s poor start to our Currie Cup campaign, where we were outplayed by a more disciplined Pumas side on the night, we need to go back to basics,” said EP Kings Coach, David Maidza.

Maidza said the EP Kings side had made too many errors in their debut ABSA Currie Cup First Division game of the 2013 season.

“We were not accurate enough, with or without the ball, and made too many errors all round, which then gave the Pumas countless opportunities to attack us,” he said.

“We also gave away too many penalties in kickable positions, and with Carl Bezuidenhout’s kicking accuracy we were duly punished.”

Maidza said the performance against the Pumas was not one the team were proud of, and that the weekend’s match against the Griffons was a chance to set the record straight.

“It will certainly be a difficult trip to Welkom, as many EP Kings teams that have travelled there in the past have found out.

“We need everyone in the squad to pick up their individual concentration levels and make sure that we come away with a more respectable performance,” he said.

Maidza said he was confident that the team could deliver, despite the challenges faced due to the overlapping of the Currie cup First Division and Super Rugby fixtures.

“I am sure that the team is good enough to come back with the required result,” he said.







15. Siviwe “Shakes” Soyizwapi

11. Hadleigh Parkes

13. Wayne Stevens

12. Siyabonga “Tiger” Mangweni (Captain)

14. Sergeal Petersen

10. Wesley Dunlop

9. Scott Mathie

1. Brenden Olivier

2. Dane van der Westhuyzen

3. Ross Geldenhuys

6. Thabo Mamojela

4. Samora Fihlani

5. Rynier Bernardo

7. Mpho Mbiyozo (V/C)

8. Aidon Davis


16. Albie de Swart

17. Peter Stemmet

18. Dalton Davis

19. Kuselo Moyake

20. Dwayne Kelly

21. Ntabeni Dukisa

22. Scott van Breda

Related Posts