Sep 3 • Currie Cup F.Div, Currie Cup F.Div News, General News • 2156 Views • No Comments on EP KINGS TEAM TO PLAY SWD EAGLES IN PORT ELIZABETH

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

The EP Kings team that will take on the SWD Eagles in their next ABSA Currie Cup First Division clash at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Friday evening remains relatively unchanged from the team that beat the Leopards 44 to 26 in Potchefstroom.

EP Kings head coach, David Maidza, said the only change to the starting line up from last week was that of Darron Nell, who was being rested following a slight niggle with his ankle.

“Thabo Mamojele comes up from the bench to take Nell’s place, while Siyabonga “Tiger” Mangweni takes over the captaincy,” said Maidza.

“Thabo has really been doing well as a substitute and has been playing well the whole season,” said Maidza.

Maidza said Wayne van Heerden would come up to the bench for Mamojele, while Kayle van Zyl would come up to the bench in place of Dwayne Kelly, as part of normal squad rotation.

Maidza said they were expecting a tough game against the SWD Eagles.

“We know it is going to be a tough game, they always bring their A game and I doubt that that will change this weekend,” he said.

Maidza said that while the SWD Eagles did tend to leak tries, they were a competent side and strong on attack.

“We have looked at various aspects of their game and will be looking to utilise the opportunities that are presented to us,” he said.

Mangweni said the team would also be focusing on maintaining discipline during the game.

“Discipline has been a key focus for us the past two weeks, with or without the ball, and the results have shown, and we are doing much better,” he said.

Mangweni said the team was motivated following their two consecutive wins, but the focus remained on the game ahead, rather than the possibility of securing a semi final.

“We are taking eachgame as it comes; we’re not looking at that yet. We must just do our best and deal with the game at hand,” he said.

EP Kings team:

15.​Scott van Breda
11.​Marcello Sampson
13.​Wayne Stevens
12.​Siyabonga Mangweni (Captain)
14.​Michael Killian
10.​George Whitehead
9.​Nicolas Vergallo
1.​Brenden Olivier
2.​Hannes Franklin (V/C)
3.​Charl du Plessis
6.​Devin Oosthuizen
4.​Samora Fihlani
5.​Thabo Mamojele
7.​Tim Agaba
8.​Cornell du Preez

16.​Boetie Britz
17.​Lizo Gqoboka
18. ​Wayne van Heerden
19.​Stefan Willemse
20. ​Kayle van Zyl
21. ​Ntabeni Dukisa
22.​Brian Skosana

Related Posts