Everitt has named a relatively unchanged line-up for British and Irish Lions clash

Jul 5 • British & Irish Lions, British & Irish Lions News, General News, International, National, South Africa, South Africa • 436 Views • No Comments on Everitt has named a relatively unchanged line-up for British and Irish Lions clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Everitt has named a relatively unchanged line-up, welcoming back his captain Phepsi Buthelezi who returns to the side after missing last week’s game with a mild concussion.

“We have to get the fundamentals right otherwise we will be punished on the day.”

“The chief goal is that we go into this game well-prepared and for the players to understand what’s coming their way. Not many of our players in the [Currie Cup] squad have international experience and that includes Super Rugby, so yes, this is a big challenge.

“We have only played two games in the Carling Currie Cup, but our group has been together for some time and they’re looking forward to the challenge,” admitted head coach Sean Everitt of this clash against an international northern hemisphere combination.

On Wednesday evening, the Cell C Sharks will be taking on a powerful Lions’ side that despatched their local namesakes the Sigma Lions in an eight try to two display on Saturday. This is a warning signal if ever there needed to be one. Not that the Cell C Sharks players need any further motivation that their excitement will provide at getting this fantastic opportunity.

A British & Irish Lions tour only comes around every 12 years and fortunate are the players representing their provincial franchises who get to take part in this piece of history not reserved for many rugby players.

Cell C Sharks

  1. Khwezi Mona
  2. Fez Mbatha
  3. Khutha Mchunu
  4. Ruben van Heerden
  5. Hyron Andrews
  6. James Venter
  7. Thembelani Bholi
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi (c)
  9. Jaden Hendrikse
  10. Curwin Bosch
  11. Thaakir Abrahams
  12. Marius Louw
  13. Jeremy Ward
  14. Werner Kok
  15. Manie Libbok


  1. Kerron van Vuuren
  2. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  3. Wiehahn Herbst
  4. JJ van der Mescht
  5. Reniel Hugo
  6. Dylan Richardson
  7. Grant Williams
  8. Anthony Volmink

Related Posts