FNB UJ ends FNB Maties’ unbeaten run

Mar 28 • General News, Varsity & Club, Varsity Cup • 2098 Views • No Comments on FNB UJ ends FNB Maties’ unbeaten run

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

FNB UJ ends FNB Maties’ unbeaten run, defeating them 42-16


The FNB UJ ended the last round of the Varsity Cup group stages with a bang as they gave FNB Maties their first defeat of the season. 


FNB UJ won the match 42-16 and secured a home semi-final in the process for finishing second on the log. FNB Maties rang the changes for this match to give some of their first team players a rest, ahead of their semi-final clash against FNB Tuks next Monday.


FNB Maties started the match well as winger, Brandon Asher-Wood scored a nine-point try, but FNB UJ fly half, Divan Nel drew his side level after two penalties and a drop goal.


Ronald Brown and captain, Jakobus Porter scored two great tries for FNB UJ just before the break as they led 27-9 at half time. FNB Maties were dealt a further blow before half time when centre, Chris Smit was yellow carded for a late tackle.


The side from Johannesburg continued where they left off in the second half as they scored two more tries through Caswell Khoza and Etienne Oosthuizen to claim a bonus point.


FNB Maties completely failed to get going in the second half as discipline and poor execution let the Maroon Machine down, but they did manage a consolation try at the end through Carlisle Nel.



FNB Maties: 16

Nine- point tries: Brandon Asher-Wood

Seven-point tries: Carlisle Nel

FNB UJ: 42

Nine-point tries: Jakobus Porter

Five-point tries: Ronald Brown, Caswell Khoza, Etienne Oosthuizen

Cons: Divan Nel (3)

Pens: Divan Nel (3)

Drop Goals: Divan Nel



FNB Maties: 15 Jason Worral, 14 Brandon Asher-Wood, 13 Kyle Steyn, 12 Chris Smith, 11 Carlisle Nel, 10 Chris Smith, 9 SP Ferreira, 8 Martin Groenewald, 7 Robey Labuschagne, 6 Geor Malan, 5 Justin Moberly, 4 Johan Momsen, 3 Martin Oosthuizen, 2 Freddie Kirsten ©, 1 Wesley Adonis

16 Craig Corbett, 17 Boeta Kleinhans, 18 Conal Brown, 19 Saud Abrahams, 20 Bjorn Bernardo, 21 Brendon Nell, 22 Carlton Fortune, 23 Derick Marais


FNB UJ: 15 Ronald Brown, 14 Peter John Walters,13 Bradley Moolman, 12 Robert de Bruyn, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Devon Mare, 8 Jakobus Porter ©, 7 Etiienne Oosthuizen, 6 Wian Conradie, 5 David Antonites, 4 FP Pelser, 3 Nico du Plessis, 2 Johannes Snyman, 1 Nzuzo Siyakubonga

16 Emmanuel Morowane, 17 Kyle Kruger, 18 Jeremy Jordan, 19 Kyle van Dalen, 20 Hilton Mudariki, 21 Caswell Khoza, 22 Kroezen Dominic, 23 Waldo Weideman

Related Posts