FRANCOIS STEYN SUSPENDED FOR FIVE WEEKS

Mar 31 • General News, Super Rugby • 3235 Views • No Comments on FRANCOIS STEYN SUSPENDED FOR FIVE WEEKS

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...

IMG_8172

Photo: @HowzitJax

Appeal Hearing Details: 31 March 2015 @ 5pm AEDT, 7pm NZDT, 8am SAST via videoconference

Appeals Committee: Terry Willis (Chairman, Australia), Nigel Hampton QC (New Zealand), Robert Stelzner SC (South Africa)
Player: Francois Steyn
Team: Sharks
Position: Centre
Date of Original Judicial Hearing: 25 March 2015
Outcome of original SANZAR judicial hearing: At a SANZAR judicial hearing on 23 March 2015, SANZAR Judicial Officer, Jannie Lubbe SC, found Francois Steyn not guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (j), which provides: Lifting a player from the ground and dropping or driving that player into the ground whilst that player’s feet are still off the ground such that the player’s head and/or upper body come into contact with the ground is dangerous play.

A SANZAR Appeals Committee, chaired by Terry Willis (Australia) and comprising Nigel Hampton QC (New Zealand) and Robert Stelzner SC (South Africa), has allowed an appeal by SANZAR against the verdict of a judicial hearing that cleared Francois Steyn of a lifting tackle.

The Appeals Committee unanimously upheld the appeal brought by SANZAR and found that Steyn breached Law 10.4 (j) and that the referee was correct to red card the player during the match between the Sharks and the Chiefs played at Growthpoint KINGS PARK in Durban on Saturday 21 March 2015.

The Committee determined that the relevant sanction was four matches. After taking into consideration the Sharks’ bye in Round 11, Steyn was suspended from all forms of the game up to and including 3 May 2015.

Related Posts