Gallagher Chiefs team named for trans-Tasman top of the table clash

May 25 • General News, Super Rugby • 937 Views • No Comments on Gallagher Chiefs team named for trans-Tasman top of the table clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Eagle-eyed supporters will observe a colourful variation on the Gallagher Chiefs playing strip this Friday when they take to the field at Allianz Stadium in Sydney for their round 14 Investec Super Rugby match against the NSW Waratahs. 

The New Zealand Conference leaders will don one brightly coloured bootlace to promote diversity in rugby.  In a special twist, the matching bootlace will be worn by rugby fans in Waikato hospital, after members of the squad exchanged laces with a diverse group of courageous young patients earlier this week. 

The 23-man team to play the NSW Waratahs has been named today by Gallagher Chiefs head coach Dave Rennie. There’s just one injury-forced change to the starting fifteen who trumped the Melbourne Rebels 36-15 last Saturday at FMG Stadium Waikato.  Tom Sanders is promoted from the bench to start at number 8 after Michael Leitch sustained a hand injury against the Rebels. Leitch requires surgery for a dislocated thumb and will be sidelined for 8-10 weeks. Lachlan Boshier joins the reserves as loose-forward cover.

Friday evening’s top of the table trans-Tasman clash kicks off at 7:40pm local time (9:40pm NZT). At the conclusion of round 14, there’s a five week hiatus in the 2016 Super Rugby season to allow for the June Internationals. Chiefs fans can see their team in action in a historical first-class fixture against Wales. The game kicks off at 6:35pm on June the 14th, with the vibrancy, intensity and skill of top-flight rugby on full display in this unique Tuesday evening fixture. Tickets are available from Stirling Sports, 0800 4 CHIEFS or

The Gallagher Chiefs team to play the NSW Waratahs is:

1.            Mitchell Graham (22)

2.            Nathan Harris (17)

3.            Hiroshi Yamashita (6)

4.            Dominic Bird (4)

5.            Brodie Retallick (66)

6.            Taleni Seu (11)

7.            Sam Cane (76) co-captain

8.            Tom Sanders (7)

9.            Brad Weber (35)

10.         Aaron Cruden (67) co-captain

11.         James Lowe (30)

12.         Anton Lienert-Brown (17)

13.         Seta Tamanivalu (17)

14.         Toni Pulu (6)

15.         Damian McKenzie (27)    


16.         Hika Elliot (97)

17.         Kane Hames (3)

18.         Siegfried Fisi’ihoi (4)

19.         Michael Allardice (16)

20.         Lachlan Boshier (1)

21.         Kayne Hammington (5)

22.         Andrew Horrell (52)

23.         Sam Vaka (2)

( ) = Gallagher Chiefs caps in brackets

Not considered for selection: Nepo Laulala, Mitchell Karpik, Johan Bardoul, Pauliasi Manu, Sam Henwood, Tevita Koloamatangi, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Glen Fisiiahi, Charlie Ngatai, Sam McNicol, Chase Tiatia, Michael Leitch, Augustine Pulu (All Blacks Sevens) and Shaun Stevenson (New Zealand U20s).

Related Posts