Important Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash at Loftus Versfeld

Feb 10 • General News, International, National, South Africa, South Africa, United Rugby Championship • 437 Views • No Comments on Important Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash at Loftus Versfeld

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Cell C Sharks and Vodacom Bulls go head-to-head in an important Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Saturday evening.

The return leg, second round derby will be viewed as a crucial step towards the log chase, with some congestion between the four South African sides competing in the URC and plenty of motivation for various reasons.

Log positions are important, but a clinical, accurate, calm and disciplined performance will have been the talk in the camp during the week.

After the Cell C Sharks 30-16 first round victory at Hollywoodbets Kings Park in early December, they know that they need to look forward, not backwards. A strong performance against a physical Bulls side is vital and the team must match their opposition’s best efforts with relentless physicality of their own.

Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt has made three changes to last week’s side, giving Gerbrandt Grobler a start in the second row with hard-working fellow lock Ruben van Heerden playing off the bench. In the other change to the pack, the vastly experienced Henco Venter comes in for the impressive youngster Jeandre Labuschagne at flank.

After big performances leading the Cell C Sharks in the Carling Currie Cup, Marius Louw is called up to the URC side where he slots in at centre, with captain Lukhanyo Am moving back to his regular position at outside centre in place of Jeremy Ward.

More commanding performances at Currie Cup level have been just reward for the Springbok duo of loose forward Sikhumbuzo Notshe and flyhalf Curwin Bosch, both of whom returned from injury to play important roles in last week’s 35-20 victory over DHL Western Province. The pair have been selected on the bench for this match.

Cell C Sharks

  1. Ox Nche
  2. Bongi Mbonambi
  3. Thomas du Toit (v/c)
  4. Gerbrandt Grobler
  5. Hyron Andrews
  6. Siya Kolisi
  7. Henco Venter
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi
  9. Jaden Hendrikse
  10. Tito Bonilla
  11. Makazole Mapimpi
  12. Marius Louw
  13. Lukhanyo Am (c)
  14. Sbu Nkosi
  15. Aphelele Fassi


  1. Kerron van Vuuren
  2. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  3. Khutha Mchunu
  4. Ruben van Heerden
  5. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
  6. Grant Williams
  7. Curwin Bosch
  8. Werner Kok

Related Posts