Ireland select match day 23 for Wales encounter

Feb 22 • General News, Six Nations, Six Nations News • 4795 Views • No Comments on Ireland select match day 23 for Wales encounter

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Ireland coaching group have named the match day 23 that will host Wales at the Aviva Stadium in Round 3 of the NatWest 6 Nations Championship.

Captain Rory Best becomes Ireland’s third most capped player in his own right as he runs out for his 109th appearance for his country.  He is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Andrew Porter.

Devin Toner and James Ryan form the second row partnership with Peter O’Mahony, Dan Leavy and CJ Stander retained in the backrow.

Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton continue at half-back with Chris Farrell partnering Bundee Aki in the midfield.  Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale line out on the wings with Rob Kearney at fullback.

The replacements are Sean Cronin, Jack McGrath, John Ryan, Quinn Roux, Jack Conan, Kieran Marmion, Joey Carbery and Fergus McFadden


. IRELAND squad v Wales, Saturday 24th February, 2018, Aviva Stadium

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 80 caps

14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 64 caps

13. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 2 caps

12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 4 caps

11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 6 caps

10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 70 caps

9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 61 caps


1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 75 caps

2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 108 caps

3. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps

4. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps

5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 55 caps

6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 44 caps

7. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps

8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 20 caps



16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 58 caps

17. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 44 caps

18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 12 caps

19. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 4 caps

20. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 6 caps

21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 19 caps

22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 7 caps

23. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 33 caps

Related Posts