Ireland team named to face Italy at the Aviva Stadium

Mar 10 • General News, Six Nations • 2045 Views • No Comments on Ireland team named to face Italy at the Aviva Stadium

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
The Ireland coaching group have named the match day squad to take on Italy at the Aviva Stadium at lunchtime on Saturday.

Rory Best captain’s the side with Jack McGrath and Mike Ross alongside him in the front row.  The second row partnership of Donnacha Ryan and Devin Toner is retained as is the backrow of Josh van der Flier at openside, CJ Stander at blindside and Jamie Heaslip at No.8.

The halfbacks are Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton with Robbie Henshaw and Jared Payne reunited in midfield.  Simon Zebo comes into fullback with Keith Earls and Andrew Trimble completing the back three.

The replacements include Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Nathan White, Ultan Dillane, Rhys Ruddock, Kieran Marmion, Ian Madigan and Fergus McFadden.

IRELAND team to play Italy – Saturday 12th March, 2016 RBS 6 Nations Championship

15. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)
14. Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
13. Jared Payne (Ulster)
12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
11. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
10. Jonathan Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (c)
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
6. CJ Stander (Munster)
7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) (vc)

16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
18. Nathan White (Connacht)
19. Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)
20. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
22. Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
23. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Related Posts