Jones names squad to play Wales

Mar 5 • General News, Guinness Six Nations, International, Six Nations • 1706 Views • No Comments on Jones names squad to play Wales

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

England men’s head coach Eddie Jones has named his 23-man squad to play Wales in the fourth round of the Guinness Six Nations at Twickenham Stadium (KO 4.45pm live on ITV1).

In an unchanged tight five, Joe Marler, Jamie George and Kyle Sinckler are named in the front row with George Kruis and Maro Itoje in partnership in the second row.

Mark Wilson, returning for the first time this Guinness Six Nations following injury, is named at openside flanker with Courtney Lawes named at blind-side flanker and Tom Curry at number 8.

Ben Youngs starts at scrum half with George Ford at fly half. Captain Owen Farrell will play inside centre with Manu Tuilagi named at outside centre.

Anthony Watson also returns following injury to join Jonny May on the wings, with Elliot Daly selected at full back.

Hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie as well as props Ellis Genge and Will Stuart are named as finishers alongside Joe Launchbury, Charlie Ewels, Ben Earl, Willi Heinz and Henry Slade.

Jones said: “We’ve had a really good two week preparation – a fallow week in Oxford where we had good training days last Thursday and Friday and three good training days this week culminating in a very good session Wednesday.

“Wales are a very tough, well-coached side and they’ve been building on their attack since Wayne Pivac has taken over.

“It’s always a tough game against Wales and we know they will bring that toughness to all the contest areas.

“We’re looking forward to playing at home again and getting back out in front of our fantastic fans.”

England starting XV
15 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 42 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 42 caps)
13 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 42 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 82 caps) C
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 55 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 68 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 98 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 70 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 48 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 34 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 37 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 44 caps)
6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 84 caps)
7 Mark Wilson (Sale Sharks, 18 caps)
8 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 22 caps)

16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 23 caps)
17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 17 caps)
18 Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 2 caps)
19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 64 caps)
20 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 14 caps)
21 Ben Earl (Saracens, 2 caps)
22 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 12 caps)
23 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 28 caps)

Related Posts