May 3 • General News, International, Junior Rugby • 520 Views • No Comments on JUNIOR WALLABIES CONFIRMED TO TAKE ON NEW ZEALAND U20s

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Junior Wallabies Head Coach Jason Gilmore has named his strongest possible side, as the team look to continue their winning ways when they take on the New Zealand U20s this Saturday night at Bond University on the Gold Coast. 

Following a strong performance against Fiji, Gilmore has opted to keep Michael McDonald at scrumhalf while moving experienced flyhalf Will Harrison off the bench and into the starting side.

The team for Saturday’s night clash also boasts the Junior Wallabies top try-scorers with Mark Nawaqanitawase and Triston Reilly on each wing while Isaac Lucas will wear the 15 jersey. Michael Wood has also retained his spot in the second row and he will pack down alongside Melbourne Rebels lock Trevor Hosea.

Queensland Reds backrower Fraser McReight is also set to return to the starting fold after the captain was rested for the match against Fiji.

Junior Wallabies Head Coach Jason Gilmore said: “We have selected a strong team who are ready for the challenge.

“Being able to play a match against New Zealand on our home turf is something that the boys are looking forward to.”

The match kicks off at 7pm AEST and will be broadcast LIVE on RUGBY.com.au as well as Oceania Rugby’s Facebook page.

Junior Wallabies to take on New Zealand U20s
1. Angus Bell, University of Sydney
2. Lachlan Lonergan, Tuggeranong Vikings
3. Josh Nasser, University of Queensland
4. Michael Wood, Brothers
5. Trevor Hosea, Harlequins Rugby Club
6. Harry Wilson, Brothers
7. Fraser McReight ©, Sunnybank
8. Will Harris, Eastern Suburbs
9. Michael McDonald, Palmyra
10. Will Harrison, Randwick
11. Mark Nawaqanitawase, Eastwood
12. Noah Lolesio, Tuggeranong Vikings
13. Semisi Tupou, Box Hill
14. Triston Reilly, Randwick
15. Isaac Lucas, Sunnybank

16. Bo Abra, Eastern Suburbs
17. Joe Cotton, Wests Bulldogs
18. Darcy Breen, Sydney University
19. Esei Ha’angana, Melbourne Unicorns
20. Carlo Tizzano, University of Western Australia
21. Henry Robertson, Sydney University
22. Ben Donaldson, Randwick
23. Sione Tui, Melbourne Unicorns
24. Egan Siggs, University of Queensland
25. Pat Tafa, Northern Suburbs
26. Nathan Lawson, Southern Districts
27. Kye Oates, University of Queensland
28. Joey Walton, Gordon

Oceania U20s Championship – Bond University, Gold Coast
Round 1 – Friday 26th

New Zealand U20s 53 defeated Fiji U20s 7
Junior Wallabies 64 defeated Junior Japan 14

Round 2 – Tuesday, April 30
New Zealand U20s 87 defeated Junior Japan 12
Junior Wallabies 16 defeated Fiji U20s 0

Round 3 – Saturday, May 4
Junior Japan v Fiji U20s, 5.00pm
Junior Wallabies v New Zealand U20s, 7.00pm

Related Posts