May 8 • General News, Junior Rugby • 1315 Views • No Comments on JUNIOR WALLABIES SQUAD FOR WORLD RUGBY U20s CHAMPIONSHIP NAMED

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Junior Wallabies Squad for Australia’s campaign at the World Rugby U20s Championship has been confirmed today with 28 players to depart for France later this month.

Australia takes on Wales, Japan and New Zealand in Pool A kicking off on Wednesday May 30 as the Junior Wallabies side looks to secure a position in the top four Semi Finals.

Isaac Lucas continues the Rugby pedigree of his family having been named in the squad as one of Australia’s backs alongside Tate McDermott and Ryan Lonergan who will tour as scrumhalves. Lucas’ older brothers include Matt Lucas (Brumbies), Ben Lucas (Queensland Reds) and Tom Lucas (Australian Sevens).

Rugby Australia and the Queensland Reds have agreed that Hamish Stewart will not be considered for a return to the Junior Wallabies squad in 2018 due to his current involvement with Queensland’s Vodafone Super Rugby campaign.

Australia kicks off its campaign at Stade de la Mediterranee, Béziers, against Wales on Thursday 31 May.

Junior Wallabies Head Coach Jason Gilmore said: “We took a lot of learnings out of the match against New Zealand and we will be implementing those improvements in our next camp ahead of our departure.

“We have a tough Pool with Wales, Japan and New Zealand who all offer three different styles of Rugby and we will need to be ready for the three challenges.

“The hard work steps up now for this squad after Oceania and the players and staff are looking forward to getting back into camp.”

The Junior Wallabies will reconvene for a camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra on Thursday 17 May.

2018 Junior Wallabies Squad, World Rugby U20s Championship


Angus Blyth, Bond University, QLD

Matt Faessler, Brothers, QLD

George Francis, Eastwood, NSW

Esei Ha’angana, Melbourne Unicorns, VIC

Harry Hockings, University of Queensland, QLD

Josh Kemeny, Sydney University, NSW

Harry Hoopert, Brothers, QLD

Trevor Hosea, Harlequins, VIC

Efi Ma’afu, Wests, QLD

Sama Malolo, Endeavour Hills, VIC

Fraser McReight, Brothers, QLD

Josh Nasser, University of Queensland, QLD

Tom Ross, Gungahlin, ACT

Rory Suttor, Sydney University, NSW

Patrick Tafa, Norths, NSW

Rob Valetini, Wests, ACT


Lawson Creighton, Brothers, QLD

Mack Hansen, Gungahlin, ACT

Tony Hunt, Norths, QLD

Len Ikitau, Vikings, ACT

Bayley Kuenzle, Southern Districts, NSW

Isiah Latu, Queanbeyan, ACT

Ryan Lonergan, Vikings, ACT

Isaac Lucas, Sunnybank, QLD

Tate McDermott, University of Queensland, QLD

Matt McTaggert, Easts, NSW

Jordan Petaia, Wests, QLD

Semisi Tupou, Box Hill, VIC

2018 World Rugby U20s Championship Pool A Fixtures*: 

Thursday 31 May

Australia v Wales, 5.00am AEST, Stade de la Mediterranee, Bézier
Sunday 3 June

Australia v Japan, 10.00pm AEST, Stade de la Mediterranee, Bézier
Friday 8 June 

Australia v New Zealand, 5.00am AEST, Stade Aime-Giral, Perpignan

*Dates and times have been named as AEST

Related Posts