KICK-OFF TIMES AMENDED FOR ANZAC REMEMBRANCE

Apr 1 • General News, Super Rugby • 2274 Views • No Comments on KICK-OFF TIMES AMENDED FOR ANZAC REMEMBRANCE

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...

SANZAR has amended the kick-off time of two matches in Round 11 to accommodate extended pre-game Anzac Centenary remembrance ceremonies.

The Brumbies v Highlanders and Waratahs v Rebels clashes on April 24 and 25 respectively will now each kick off at 19:55 local time (21:55 NZST, 11:55 SAST, 9:55 GMT) – 15 minutes later than the originally scheduled time.

Teams will enter the field of play simultaneously and line up for the Anzac remembrance that will include The Ode, Last Post, The Silence and The Reveille, along with the national anthems of both Australia and New Zealand for the five matches played in those territories, stirring passion and emotion immediately prior to kick-off.

Back-to-back fixtures of Chiefs v Force and Brumbies v Highlanders on Friday April 24 see the round commence with clashes on either side of the Tasman before a pair of key derbies take centre stage on Anzac Day.

The Blues travel to Christchurch to renew their rivalry with the Crusaders before the Waratahs host the Rebels at ANZ Stadium in a battle between two traditional Australian foes who will vie for the Weary Dunlop Shield; a trophy bearing the name of a hero whose name resonates loudly throughout rugby and the armed forces.

Related Posts