Kriek proves faith in players for SA Schools vs England clash

Aug 14 • General News, SA Schools, SA Schools Team, School • 3423 Views • 1 Comment on Kriek proves faith in players for SA Schools vs England clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

SA Schools coach Hein Kriek on Friday proved faith in the players that held their nerve to win against France in the Under-18 International Series for their final clash against England on Saturday as he made only a few changes to his starting team.

Kriek made five personnel changes to his team, two of which were forced by concussion, which paved the way for utility forwards Hendré Stassen and Zain Davids to be promoted from the SA Schools A team to the SA Schools team. Stassen replaces Ruben van Heerden in the run-on team, while flanker Johan Visser takes over from Cobus Wiese.

The other changes in the starting line-up were at loosehead prop where Cabous Eloff replaces Ashwyn Adams, while Curwin Bosch moves from fullback to flyhalf in place of Damian Willemse, and Andell Loubser gets a run at fullback. On the left wing Manie Libbok is selected in place of Wandisile Simelane.

“England have won both their matches in the Series so far and they are a strong unit, so we will have to be at our best to beat them,” said Kriek. “With that in mind we opted for continuity in selection in the starting line-up, however, the replacements will play an equally important role to keep alive our hopes of finishing the tournament unbeaten.

“England got the better of us in the final match of the tournament last year, which marked our first defeat in the series in four years, but I believe in the team, and if they play to their potential hopefully we can get the desired result.”

The final round of matches will be played at the City Park Stadium in Crawford, Cape Town with the SA Schools team meeting England in the Series decider, while the SA Schools A team will battle it out with Wales and France will go up against Italy.

SA Schools A coach Lance Sendin, meanwhile, made nine changes to his starting team for their clash against Wales, which features new-look looseforward and halfback combinations. Flankers Phillip Krause and Kwanda Dimaza will join forces with No8 Khanya Ncusane in the loose trio, while scrumhalf Matthew Dahl and flyhalf Bader Pretorius will dictate play. Dahl also takes over the captaincy from Stassen.

In the front row props Christopher Klopper and Mashao Mukhari have been handed starts, while Ruan Vermaak replaces Stassen at lock, and centre Abner van Reenen takes over from Cyprian Nkomo.

The SA Schools A team will meet Wales at 11h00 and the SA Schools team take on England at 15h00, with the matches being broadcast live on SuperSport 8.

SA Schools team to face England:

15 – Andell Loubser (Blue Bulls, Menlo Park)
14 – Nico Leonard (Western Province, Paul Roos Gymnasium)
13 – Stedman Gans (Blue Bulls, Hoërskool, Waterkloof)
12 – Heino Bezuidenhout (Eastern Province, Daniel Pienaar)
11 – Manie Libbok (SWD, Outeniqua)
10 – Curwin Bosch (Eastern Province, Grey)
9 – Embrose Papier (Blue Bulls, Garsfontein)
8 – Hacjivah Dayimani (Golden Lions, Jeppe Boys)
7 – Ernst van Rhyn (Captain) – (Western Province, Paul Roos Gymnasium)
6 – Johan Visser (Western Province, Paarl Gymnasium)
5 – Ruben de Villiers (Western Province, Paarl Boys High)
4 – Hendré Stassen (Valke, EG Jansen)
3 – Carlű Sadie (Western Province, Bellville High)
2 – Johan Grobbelaar (Western Province, Paarl Gymnasium)
1 – Cabous Eloff (Blue Bulls, AHS)


16 – Nico Peyper (Valke, EG Jansen)
17 – Ashwyn Adams (Western Province, Rondebosch Boys High)
18 – Dewald Maritz (Pumas, Hoërskool Nelspruit)
19 – Kwezi Mafu (Eastern Province, Grey)
20 – Zain Davids (Western Province, Rondebosch Boys High)
21 – Jondré Williams (Western Province, Boland Landbou)
22 – Damian Willemse (Western Province, Paul Roos Gymnasium)
23 – David Brits (Border, Selborne College)
24 – Wandisile Simelane (Golden Lions, Jeppe Boys)
25 – Salmaan Moerat (Western Province, Paarl Boys High)
26 – Manuel Ras (Western Province, Paarl Boys High)

SA Schools A team to face Wales:

15 – Riaan van Rensburg (Eastern Province, Hoërskool Framesby)
14 – Tyreeq February (Western Province, Paarl Boys High)
13 – Abner van Reenen (Blue Bulls, Garsfontein)
12 – Cornel Smit (Western Province, Bishops)
11 – Ryan Muller (Western Province, Bellville High)
10 – Bader Pretorius (KwaZulu-Natal, Michaelhouse)
9 – Matthew Dahl (Captain) – (KwaZulu-Natal, Hilton College)
8 – Khanya Ncusane (Western Province, Paarl Boys High)
7 – Kwanda Dimaza (Border, Dale College)
6 – Phillip Krause (Blue Bulls, AHS)
5 – Ruan Vermaak (Golden Lions, Hoërskool Monument)
4 – Reinhard Nothnagel (Golden Lions, Hoërskool Monument)
3 – Mashao Mukhari (Blue Bulls, Pretoria Boys High)
2 – Marnus van der Merwe (Pumas, Hoerskool Nelspruit)
1 – Christopher Klopper (KwaZulu-Natal, Glenwood High)


16 – Andre Lategan (Eastern Province, Hoërskool Framesby)
17 – Abram Venter (Griquas, De Aar High)
18 – Ignatius Prinsloo (Free State, Grey College)
19 – Kamva Dilima (Eastern Province, Grey)
20 – Marco Palvie (KwaZulu-Natal, Glenwood High)
21 – Jason Olivier (Griffons, Welkom Gymnasium)
22 – Eddie Fouche (Blue Bulls, AHS)
23 – Cyprian Nkomo (Pumas, Hoërskool Middelburg)
24 – Majaahid van der Hoven (Western Province, Rylands High)
25 – Earll Douwrie (Boland, HTS Drostdy)

Related Posts