Sep 23 • Australia, General News, International, National, Rugby Championship News, The Rugby Championship • 483 Views • No Comments on LEOTA EARNS FIRST START, HODGE AT FULLBACK FOR ARGENTINA TEST IN TOWNSVILLE

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Melbourne Rebels rising star Rob Leota has earned his first start in Wallaby gold, named at blindside flanker for the eToro Rugby Championship clash with Argentina on Saturday night at Queensland Country Bank Stadium.

The Wallabies will wear their iconic First Nations jersey at Queensland Country Bank Stadium on Saturday, in what will also be their first-ever Test match in Townsville.

Meanwhile, Leota’s Harvey Norman Super Rugby teammate Reece Hodge has been selected at fullback, after Tom Banks suffered a fractured arm in the 30-17 win over South Africa last weekend.

The duo are two of three changes to the match day squad with playmaker James O’Connor set to make his first International appearance for the year via the pine.

An unchanged front row sees Queenslander James Slipper play his 109th Test alongside club teammate Folau Fainga’a and powerhouse Taniela Tupou, who will be looking to replicate his impact from last weekend against the Springboks at Suncorp Stadium.

Izack Rodda continues his successful return to the Test arena alongside Matt Philip in the second row.

Leota will be joined in the backrow by skipper Michael Hooper at openside flanker and Rob Valetini at no.8.

Nic White will again partner Quade Cooper in the halves, with the newly re-signed Len Ikitau to build on his strong combination with Samu Kerevi in the midfield.

Hodge’s first start for the year at fullback is the only change to the back three, with last week’s two-try hero Marika Koroibete on the left wing and Rebels flyer Andrew Kellaway on the right.

The reserve front row sees Queensland-raised Feleti Kaitu’u earn his third cap as the replacement hooker alongside finishing props Tom Robertson and Angus Bell.

Babinda-born Darcy Swain will be the replacement lock with his Brumbies teammate Pete Samu enjoying a rich vein of form as the backrow cover.

Queensland number nine Tate McDermott will provide spark off the pine late in the game, alongside O’Connor as the finishing halves. Their Reds teammate Jordan Petaia rounds out the game day 23.

The Wallabies have now climbed to number three in the world following the back-to-back wins over the world champions.

Argentina’s ‘Los Pumas’ have proven a tricky match-up for Australia in recent years, with the two sides sharing the spoils in both Test matches played last year.

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said: “It’s a really proud moment for Rob and his family to earn his first start in Wallaby gold and we’re all rapt for him.”

“He’s really impressed us with his work ethic on and off the field and worked hard for this opportunity.

“It’s been fantastic to connect with the Townsville community this week ahead of the first ever Test here and we’re determined to build on the past couple of performances on Saturday night.”

Every Wallabies Test will be ad-free, live and on-demand with extended coverage on Stan Sport. Every home Wallabies Test will also be live, free-to-air on the Nine Network.

Tickets for the eToro Rugby Championship are available via wallabies.rugby.

Hospitality packages are on sale now. Private suites, corporate boxes and functions are available for fans who want to enhance their Test match experience.

Information on hospitality packages is available here.

Wallabies team to play Argentina at Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville on Saturday 25 September, 8:05pm AEST

  1. James Slipper (108 Tests)
  2. Folau Fainga’a (19 Tests)
  3. Taniela Tupou (33 Tests)
  4. Izack Rodda (28 Tests)
  5. Matt Philip (17 Tests)
  6. Rob Leota (1 Test)
  7. Michael Hooper (c) (113 Tests)
  8. Rob Valetini (12 Tests)
  9. Nic White (41 Tests)
  10. Quade Cooper (72 Tests)
  11. Marika Koroibete (41 Tests)
  12. Samu Kerevi (36 Tests)
  13. Len Ikitau (7 Tests)
  14. Andrew Kellaway (7 Tests)
  15. Reece Hodge (51 Tests)
  16. Feleti Kaitu’u (2 Tests)
  17. Angus Bell (10 Tests)
  18. Tom Robertson (25 Tests)
  19. Darcy Swain (7 Tests)
  20. Pete Samu (13 Tests)
  21. Tate McDermott (10 Tests)
  22. James O’Connor (55 Tests)
  23. Jordan Petaia (12 Tests)

Related Posts