Oct 29 • Australia, General News, International, National • 374 Views • No Comments on LOLESIO, SIMONE TO START IN BLEDISLOE THREE AT ANZ STADIUM, SYDNEY

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Qantas Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has named debutants Noah Lolesio and Irae Simone in the starting XV for Saturday night’s must win Test against New Zealand at ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

20-year-old Lolesio and Simone steered the Brumbies to the Super Rugby AU title and will replace the injured James O’Connor and Matt To’omua in the side’s first match on home soil since the record breaking win over the All Blacks in Perth in August last year.

The pair are two of four uncapped players in Rennie’s match day 23 with Queensland Reds duo Tate McDermott and Fraser McReight in line for their first appearance for the Wallabies from the pine, with the side also set to wear the First Nations jersey for just the fourth time.

Allan Alaalatoa is the only change to the pack, named for his first start in 2020 alongside Brandon Paenga-Amosa and James Slipper in the front row, the latter set to play his 99th Test for this country.

The ever-improving Matt Philip and Lukhan Salakaia-Loto will have another chance to build on their combination in the second row.

After an impressive return to the Test arena a fortnight ago, Ned Hanigan retains his spot at blindside flanker with skipper Michael Hooper on the opposite side of the scrum. The backrow rounded out by the up-and-coming Harry Wilson, who is set to appear in the Wallabies jersey on home soil for the first time.

Lolesio will be partnered by his Super Rugby teammate Nic White in the halves with Simone to combine in the midfield with the dynamic Jordan Petaia, who will start for the first time in 2020 in what is also his first Test match in Australia.

The experienced Dane Haylett-Petty will wear the 15 jersey for the first time this year with Marika Koroibete and Filipo Daugunu adding speed on the wings.

Jordan Uelese, Scott Sio and Taniela Tupou will be called upon as the front row finishers with Rob Simmons set to surpass Stephen Larkham and become the equal 8th most capped Wallaby when he runs on for his 103rd Test.

The other end of the spectrum sees McReight and McDermott in line for their debuts with the aggressive Hunter Paisami and versatile Reece Hodge rounding out the match day squad.

Qantas Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said: “It’s really exciting to be able to name four more debutants in the squad this week.”

“Noah and Irae have played a lot of footy together and we have no doubt they’re ready to take the step up to Test rugby. Tate and Fraser have had big Super Rugby seasons and have impressed in training over the past month.

“It’s an especially significant night for us with the chance to represent and celebrate our First Nations people by wearing the Indigenous jersey on home soil in front of our Wallabies family.

“We know New Zealand will pose another tough challenge but we’ve prepared well and will be ready to go on Saturday night.”

Tickets are on sale now via Ticketek and Ticketmaster for the 2020 Tri Nations, depending on the match venue. For more information, visit

Foxtel will show every match of the 2020 Tri Nations LIVE with no ad-breaks during play and in HD. Watch on FOX Sports or stream on Kayo Sports.

All Bledisloe Cup matches, and matches featuring the Wallabies, will be screened LIVE and free in HD on TEN and WIN Network and streaming on

Hospitality packages for the 2020 Bledisloe Cup are also now on-sale for the 2020 Tri Nations. Fans can enjoy the Test match from the comfort of a premium match day function or private suites to make their experience even more special.

For more information about hospitality packages please call 1800 619 181, email or visit

Wallabies team to play New Zealand at ANZ Stadium, Sydney on Sunday 31 October, 7:45pm AEDT

  1. James Slipper (98 Tests)
  2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (5 Tests)
  3. Allan Alaalatoa (37 Tests)
  4. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (23 Tests)
  5. Matt Philip (5 Tests)
  6. Ned Hanigan (21 Tests)
  7. Michael Hooper (c) (101 Tests)
  8. Harry Wilson (2 Tests)
  9. Nic White (33 Tests)
  10. Noah Lolesio*
  11. Marika Koroibete (30 Tests)
  12. Irae Simone*
  13. Jordan Petaia (4 Tests)
  14. Filipo Daugunu (2 Tests)
  15. Dane Haylett-Petty (37 Tests)


  1. Jordan Uelese (11 Tests)
  2. Scott Sio (65 Tests)
  3. Taniela Tupou (21 Tests)
  4. Rob Simmons (102 Tests)
  5. Fraser McReight*
  6. Tate McDermott*
  7. Reece Hodge (41 Tests)
  8. Hunter Paisami (2 Tests)

*denotes uncapped

Related Posts