Murphy, Van Wyk and Williams to join Blitzboks in Vancouver

Apr 11 • Blitz Bokke, General News, International, National, Sevens Rugby, Sevens World Series, South Africa, South Africa • 342 Views • No Comments on Murphy, Van Wyk and Williams to join Blitzboks in Vancouver

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

James Murphy, Shaun Williams and Shilton van Wyk have been called into the Springbok Sevens squad for the HSBC Canada Sevens tournament, to be played at BC Place Stadium in Vancouver this weekend, the sixth tournament of the 2022 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

The trio, who will depart for Canada later on Monday, replace Mfundo Ndhlovu (concussion), Sakoyiso Makata (rib injury) and Lubabalo Dobela (groin injury), all of whom have picked up injuries in last weekend’s HSBC Singapore Sevens.

Murphy last played for the Blitzboks in Canada in September 2021, while Van Wyk was named in the Dream Team for the second Dubai tournament late last year, after making his debut in the first one.

Williams joined the squad in Seville in January, where the Blitzboks won the second leg of the HSBC Spain Sevens, as a replacement for Siviwe Soyizwapi and made such an impact that he was named in the tournament’s Dream Team.

Murphy is keen to return to Canada, where he enjoyed two gold medal finishes in September 2021 and scored his first try in a Blitzbok jersey, although the circumstances are not ideal.

“Yes, it is sad for Sako as he was in good form and it is never nice for players to return due to injury,” said Murphy. “I am well prepared for this though, and I have worked hard to be ready when such an opportunity came up.”

Van Wyk said he is keen to grab the opportunity: “I loved every minute of the two Dubai events and realised how special it is to be playing for your country on the world stage and amongst such a wonderful group of guys.

“Sadly I missed out the next tournaments due to injury, but I am raring to go in Vancouver. I hope to bring energy to the squad, as the guys are disappointed about the performances in Singapore.”

South Africa, who are defending champions in Vancouver, are in Pool C, where they will face Spain, Canada and Australia on Saturday.

Springbok Sevens squad for Vancouver:

  1. James Murphy – 6 tournaments; 20 matches, 10 points (2 tries)
  2. Ryan Oosthuizen – 28 tournaments; 137 matches, 150 points (30 tries)
  3. Impi Visser – 18 tournaments; 91 matches, 95 points (19 tries)
  4. Zain Davids – 29 tournaments; 145 matches, 135 points (27 tries)
  5. Christie Grobbelaar – 8 tournaments; 38 matches, 65 points (13 tries)
  6. JC Pretorius – 17 tournaments; 91 matches, 195 points (39 tries)
  7. Ronald Brown – 5 tournaments; 29 matches, 197 points (17 tries, 56 conversions)
  8. Selvyn Davids – 26 tournaments; 135 matches, 552 points (67 tries, 107 conversions, 1 penalty)
  9. Shaun Williams – 5 tournaments; 25 matches, 68 points (12 tries, 4 conversions)
  10. Dewald Human – 14 tournaments; 63 matches, 184 points (14 tries, 57 conversions)
  11. Siviwe Soyizwapi (captain) – 36 tournaments; 187 matches, 595 points (119 tries)
  12. Shilton van Wyk – 2 tournaments; 12 matches, 20 points (4 tries)
  13. Darren Adonis – 5 tournaments; 27 matches, 47 points (9 tries, 1 conversion)

Related Posts