New Zealand Rugby congratulates All Blacks on World Rugby 2014 Awards

Nov 23 • General News, International, World Rugby • 2175 Views • No Comments on New Zealand Rugby congratulates All Blacks on World Rugby 2014 Awards

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

All Blacks – Team of the Year
Brodie Retallick – Player of the Year
Steve Hansen – Coach of the Year

New Zealand Rugby has paid tribute to the All Blacks after they again dominated the annual World Rugby Awards announced following the last match of the MyRepublic Northern Tour against Wales.

The All Blacks were named World Rugby Team of the Year for the fifth successive year and Head Coach Steve Hansen Coach of the Year for the third straight year.

Lock Brodie Retallick was named Player of the Year, the fourth All Black to win the prestigious award.

The 23-year-old has enjoyed a fantastic year in the middle of the All Blacks’ pack and follows in the footsteps of teammates Kieran Read (2013), Dan Carter (2005 and 2012) and Richie McCaw (2006, 2009 and 2010).

He edged out Willie le Roux (South Africa), Julian Savea (New Zealand), Jonathan Sexton (Ireland) and Duane Vermeulen (South Africa) for the award.

“It has been another year where the hard work done by this group has been rewarded on the field with outstanding results,” said New Zealand Rugby Chief Executive Steve Tew.

“We are extremely proud of this team and on behalf of New Zealand Rugby I congratulate Brodie, Steve and the whole team who have been brilliantly lead by Richie and supported by a large group of very committed professionals all of whom unselfishly contribute.”

All three of these awards are selected by an independent panel of judges, chaired by Australia’s RWC 1999 winning captain John Eales and also comprising Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphaël Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustín Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga and Paul Wallace.

A towering presence in the lineout, Retallick has played 35 Tests for New Zealand since making his debut against Ireland in June 2012. His powerful runs and work-rate across the pitch have brought him to the fore in 2014. His partnership with Sam Whitelock makes up arguably the best second row in today’s game.

Under Hansen’s guidance in 2014 the All Blacks equalled the record of 17 consecutive victories by a major nation, secured a series win over England in the Steinlager Series, won the Bledisloe Cup for the 12th successive year and a third Rugby Championship title in a row. They also ended the MyRepublic Northern Tour undefeated following this morning’s 34-16 victory over Wales.

World Rugby Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “Brodie Retallick has been at the heart of another hugely successful year for the All Blacks with his superb lineout skills, ball carrying ability and work at the breakdown playing a huge role in a June series win against England, the Rugby Championship title and a strong November series.

“New Zealand showed again in 2014 that they are the team to beat in international Rugby, demonstrating remarkable consistency and dominance, the likes of which has rarely been seen before. And at the helm is their excellent coach Steve Hansen who has managed to keep his players performing at such a high level, match after match.”

Previous Player of the Year Award winners:

2013 – Kieran Read (New Zealand)

2012 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)

2011 – Thierry Dusautoir (France)

2010 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

2009 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)

2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)

2006 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

2005 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)

2004 – Schalk Burger (South Africa)

2003 – Jonny Wilkinson (England)

2002 – Fabien Galthié (France)

2001 – Keith Wood (Ireland)

Previous Team of the Year Award winners:

2013 – New Zealand

2012 – New Zealand

2011 – New Zealand

2010 – New Zealand

2009 – South Africa

2008 – New Zealand

2007 – South Africa

2006 – New Zealand

2005 – New Zealand

2004 – South Africa

2003 – England

2002 – France

2001 – Australia

Previous Coach of the Year Award winners:

2013 – Steve Hansen (New Zealand)

2012 – Steve Hansen (New Zealand)

2011 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)

2010 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)

2009 – Declan Kidney (Ireland)

2008 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)

2007 – Jake White (South Africa)

2006 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)

2005 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)

2004 – Jake White (South Africa)

2003 – Clive Woodward (England)

2002 – Bernard Laporte (France)

2001 – Rod Macqueen (Australia)

Related Posts