New Zealand sevens replace three players for Singapore Sevens

Apr 12 • Blitz Bokke, General News, International, Sevens Rugby, Sevens World Series • 2358 Views • No Comments on New Zealand sevens replace three players for Singapore Sevens

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Three players have been called into the All Blacks Sevens for this weekend’s Singapore Sevens as injury replacements.

They are Antonio Kiri Kiri, Josh van Leishout and Isaac Te Aute who fly to Singapore tonight.

Pita Ahki (shoulder), Sam Dickson (leg), Tim Mikkelson (ankle), and Lewis Ormond (foot) have been ruled out with injuries while DJ Forbes is also returning to New Zealand.

Forbes’ return is part of his long term conditioning plan to ensure he is in the best possible shape to be in contention for the New Zealand Olympic sevens team. At Hong Kong he equalled the World Series record for tournament appearances of 79.

The All Blacks Sevens took second place at Hong Kong after losing to Fiji in the final. New Zealand has been drawn in Pool B for the Singapore Sevens and will play USA, France and Canada.

The team remains second in the series, one point ahead of South Africa and five points behind leaders, Fiji, with three tournaments left in the season; Singapore, Paris and London.

Singapore Sevens pool match schedule (Singapore is four hours behind NZT)
Saturday 16 April
1044 (1444) v France
1405 (1805) v Canada
1748 (2148) v USA

Related Posts