No changes for Cell C Sharks team to play Connacht

Apr 29 • General News, International, National, South Africa, South Africa, United Rugby Championship • 254 Views • No Comments on No changes for Cell C Sharks team to play Connacht

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt has shown commitment to the saying, ‘If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’ by naming the exact same match 23 for his team’s Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash with Connacht at Hollywoodbets Kings Park on Saturday.

He has rewarded the side that beat the log leaders last week by showing complete faith in their abilities, with the good fortune of no injury issues to hamper continuity in team selection.

With two rounds remaining and the Cell C Sharks in fourth spot on the log, they’re looking good for the knock-outs. But not just a participant, explains captain Thomas du Toit.

“We’re not aiming to be in the top eight, we’re looking for a home quarter-final,” he explains. “We’ll treat each game as if it’s our last game and the only opportunity we’re going to get, so the focus on each game is massive.

“We’re treating each game like a final and the value of a home quarter-final can’t be underestimated. We’re playing for that.”

Looking at their opponents, 10th placed Connacht, he admits that they are a little different to their Irish compatriots but offer threats of their own.

“Munster, Leinster, and Ulster have similar attacking and defensive patterns, whereas Connacht play a freer style of rugby. The other three have more structure, but Connacht is the more physical side, if not one of the most physical sides in the competition.

“Connacht is well prepared and well trained and it’s going to be a big challenge for us.”

Cell C Sharks

  1. Ox Nche
  2. Bongi Mbonambi
  3. Thomas du Toit (c)
  4. Le Roux Roets
  5. Gerbrandt Grobler
  6. Siya Kolisi (v/c)
  7. Henco Venter
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi
  9. Jaden Hendrikse
  10. Curwin Bosch
  11. Makazole Mapimpi
  12. Marius Louw
  13. Ben Tapuai
  14. Werner Kok
  15. Aphelele Fassi


  1. Kerron van Vuuren
  2. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  3. Khutha Mchunu
  4. Reniel Hugo
  5. Jeandre Labuschagne
  6. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
  7. Grant Williams
  8. Boeta Chamberlain

Related Posts