NSW Waratahs team named to chase the Cheetahs

May 5 • General News, Super Rugby • 705 Views • No Comments on NSW Waratahs team named to chase the Cheetahs

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The NSW Waratahs will run out with a similar team that defeated the Stormers 32-20 last weekend in South Africa for this Saturday’s round 11 match against the Cheetahs at Allianz Stadium.
Only one change has been made, with hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau making his return to the starting 15 for the first time since round two this season, injecting some added experience to the front row.

This week also sees Bernard Foley become equal highest Super Rugby-capped flyhalf for the Waratahs, together with Daniel Halangahu on 59. He also now sits second for most number of conversions for NSW (95), behind Matt Burke on 184.

Dean Mumm remains in the number six jersey, with Jack Dempsey still out with a shoulder injury. Benn Robinson is recovering from surgery following an eye injury during the round eight match against the Brumbies.

Meanwhile Tolu Latu has pulled up well from a hamstring injury suffered in round five and will join Zac Guildford in Club rugby this weekend as they seek to return to full match fitness.

The NSW Waratahs have won six out of their 10 matches against the Cheetahs. Their last encounter in South Africa in 2015 saw the Tahs secure a high-scoring 58-33, nine-try victory.

The team returned home this week after two successful victories on the road against the Western Force in Perth, and the Stormers in South Africa last weekend.

The NSW Waratahs to play the Cheetahs in round 11 of Super Rugby this Saturday 7 May at Allianz Stadium is below. (Super Rugby caps are in brackets). 

The match doubles as the NSW Waratahs annual Ladies Day, celebrating women in rugby on and off the field. Tickets are available at www.waratahs.com.au/tickets.

1. Paddy Ryan (70 caps)
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (134 caps)
3. Tom Robertson (6 caps)
4. David Dennis (VC – 100 caps)
5. Will Skelton (46 caps)
6. Dean Mumm (94 caps)
7. Michael Hooper (C – 89 caps)
8. Jed Holloway (12 caps)
9. Nick Phipps (90 caps)
10. Bernard Foley (70 caps)
11. Rob Horne (95 caps)
12. Kurtley Beale (122 caps)
13. Israel Folau (53 caps)
14. Reece Robinson (6 caps)
15. Andrew Kellaway (4 caps)


16. Hugh Roach (14 caps)
17. Jeremy Tilse (53 caps)
18. Angus Ta’avao (56 caps)
19. Sam Lousi (11 caps)
20. Wycliff Palu (128 caps)
21. Matt Lucas (20 caps)
22. David Horwitz (7 caps)
23. Matt Carraro (48 caps)

Related Posts