Paul Roos Gymnasium School Profile

Jun 13 • School, School Profiles • 11609 Views • 2 Comments on Paul Roos Gymnasium School Profile

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Paul Roos Gymnasium emblem logo

Paul Roos Gymnasium emblem logo

Paul Roos Gimnasium profile

On 29 January 1864 the Rev. J.H. Neethling of the Stellenbosch Dutch Reformed Church writes to Dr. Langham Dale, Superintendent General of Education of the Cape:

“As a piece of news that will interest you, I may state that yesterday (28 January 1864) 30 inhabitants of this district have decided to erect a gymnasium or Latin School. They have guaranteed 465 pounds (R930) per annum, chosen a Board of Directors of five persons to carry out the resolutions with all possible speed and decided that as soon as possible a preparatory school or infant department shall be established.”

In 1879 the Gymnasium and College had separate functionally. The College acquired the name “Stellenbosch College”. In 1885 the separation also became physical when the school and College moved to new but separate premises between Andringa and Van Ryneveld Streets. The name Stellenbosch College changed to Victoria College in 1887 and this institution became the University of Stellenbosch in 1918.

In 1887, “The Young Men’s Home” or “Het Tehuis”, the first hostel for boys, opened its doors under the supervision of Mr J.D. Krige – later affectionately known as Oom Japie “Home”. The present school hall is named after him. He was vice-rector at the time of his retirement in 1948, and ever since, a painting of him takes the place of honour next to the stage.

The school was renamed three times, Stellenbosch Boys High and Victoria College after the Queen. In 1940, it was renamed after Paul Roos, a former captain of the Springbok rugby union team. Roos was a former pupil and teacher at Paul Roos Gymnasium, and was the school’s rector from 1910 to 1940.

The Rhodes Scholarship was instituted in 1903, and Paul Roos is one of four schools in South Africa that may award a Rhodes Scholarship every year to an ex-pupil to study at the University of Oxford.


Rugby at Paul Roos

The words Paul Roos and rugby are synonymous as the great man was the originator of the now famous Springbok emblem and name for the South African national team. He is seen by many as the “father” of South African rugby and it is fitting that the school that carries his name is such a powerhouse in South African schools rugby.

Paul Roos has to date produced the most South African players to represent their country on a rugby field with Juandre Kruger becoming their 50th player when he played against England at Kingspark on June 9th 2012.

The following rugby players from Paul Roos Gymnasium represented South Africa (Springboks) on the rugby field.

  1. Arthur Nicholas de Kock (1891)
  2. Jacob Stephanus (Japie) Louw (1891)
  3. James Alexander (Jim) McKendrick (1891)
  4. Robert (Bob) Shand (1896)
  5. Paul Johannes de Waal (1896)
  6. Japie Krige (1896)
  7. Bob Loubser (1896)
  8. Pieter Albertus Ryno Otto (PO) Nel (1903)
  9. Paul Johannes Roos (1903)
  10. Koei Brink (1906)
  11. Henry John (Pinkie) Daneel (1906)
  12. Boy de Villiers (1906)
  13. Freddie Luyt (1910)
  14. Dick Luyt (1910)
  15. Koot Reynecke (1910)
  16. Gideon Daniël Roos (1910)
  17. Wakkie Krige (1912)
  18. John Douglas Luyt (1912)
  19. Tom van Vuuren (1912)
  20. Nic du Plessis (1921)
  21. Theuns Kruger (1921)
  22. Charlé Meyer (1921)
  23. Mannetjies Michau (1921)
  24. Phil Mostert (1921)
  25. Tokkie Scholtz (1921)
  26. Jackie Tindall(1921)
  27. Attie van Heerder (1921)
  28. PK Albertyn (1924)
  29. Nico Bosman (1924)
  30. Daunce Devine (1924)
  31. Kenny Starke (1924)
  32. George Murray Daneel (1928)
  33. Manus de Jongh (1928)
  34. AF du Toit (1928)
  35. PK Morkel (1928)
  36. Boet Prinsloo (1928)
  37. Ferdie Bergh (1931)
  38. George Lionell van Reenen (1937)
  39. Ballie Wahl (1949)
  40. Tjol Lategan (1949)
  41. Jannie Engelbrecht (1960)
  42. Gertjie Brynard (1965)
  43. Hempies du Toit (1980
  44.  Cabous van der Westhuizen (1994)
  45. Justin Swart (1996)
  46. Cobus Visagie (1999)
  47. Andries Bekker (2008)
  48. Schalk Brits (2008)
  49. Francois Hougaard (2009)
  50. Juandre Kruger (2012)

With the current crop of excellent youngster coming through the ranks, one can be assured that Paul Roos will keep on producing rugby players that will go on to represent their country one day.

Paul Roos rugby players represented SA Schools team:

  1. 1974 Agie Koch
  2. 1974 George Rautenbach
  3. 1983/1984 Gielie Vermeulen
  4. 1985/1986 JC Engelbrecht
  5. 1991 Justin Swart
  6. 1996 Stefaan Myburgh
  7. 1997 Philip van Schalkwyk
  8. 2000 Paul Roux
  9. 2002 Schalk Ferreira
  10. 2003 Jody Rose
  11. 2004 Pieter Myburgh
  12. 2004 Alistair Siegelaar
  13. 2008 Tythan Adams
  14. 2009 JP du Plessis
  15. 2009 Rick Schroeder
  16. 2010 Steven Kitshoff
  17. 2010 Thsothso Mbovane
  18. 2011 /2010 JP Lewis
  19. PRG XV Dream Team 2012:

    Paul Roos Old Boys that achieved honours for national teams are 4 Springboks, 3 Blitzbokke & 1 SA u20.
    The Dream Teams is compiled of only Old Boys thats still actively playing rugby around the world.
    Players that has the attention of Springbok coach is young Stormers prop Steven Kitchoff, Lions captain Josh Strauss & Cheetahs star winger Willie le Roux could be receiving their Springbok caps in the very near future.

    Paul Roos Gymnasium XV Dream Team
    1. Steven Kitshoff (Stormers – SA u20)
    2. Schalk Brits* (Saracens – Springbok)
    3. Schalk Ferreira (Stormers)
    4. Juandre Kruger* (Bulls – Springbok)
    5. Andries Bekker* (Stormers – Springbok)
    6. Pieter Myburgh (Cheetahs)
    7. Ernst Joubert (Saracens)
    8. Josh Strauss (Lions)
    9. Francois Hougaard* (Bulls – Springbok)
    10. Coenie van Wyk (Pumas)
    11. Tshotso Mbovane (WP – Blitzbokke)
    12. Charl Weideman (Leopards)
    13. J.P. du Plessis (Stormers)
    14. Stephan Dippenaar (Bulls – Blitzbokke)
    15. Willie le Roux (Cheetahs)

    16. Sydney Tobias (WP Vodacom Cup)
    17. Pieter Stemmet (WP Vodacom Cup)
    18. Tom Botha (WP Vodacom Cup)
    19. Reniel Hugo (WP u20)
    20. Rick Schreuder (WP Vodacom Cup)
    21. Stephan van der Merwe (Cheetahs)
    22. Pieter Engelbrecht (Blitzbokke)

    Please send your school XV DREAM TEAM 2012 to with a write up so we can add to the website. Also add any players you feel should be in this squad by commenting below.
    Last updated 13 June 2012 (please reply on this post or email if any information is outdated)


    Related Posts