Sep 27 • General News, International, Rugby Championship News, The Rugby Championship • 1061 Views • No Comments on QANTAS WALLABIES PROP TANIELA TUPOU TO START IN SCOTT SIO’S 50TH TEST

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Qantas Wallabies team to play South Africa at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth on Saturday 29 September, 5.05pm local (1.05am AEST)

1. Scott Sio (49 Tests)
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (86 Tests)
3. Taniela Tupou (6 Tests)
4. Adam Coleman (26 Tests)
5. Izack Rodda (11 Tests)
6. Ned Hanigan (15 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (85 Tests)
8. David Pocock (73 Tests)
9. Will Genia (94 Tests)
10. Kurtley Beale (78 Tests)
11. Marika Koroibete (15 Tests)
12. Matt Toomua (37 Tests)
13. Reece Hodge (31 Tests)
14. Israel Folau (67 Tests)
15. Dane Haylett-Petty (25 Tests)

16. Folau Faingaa (3 Tests)
17. Sekope Kepu (97 Tests)
18. Allan Alaalatoa (27 Tests)
19. Rory Arnold (17 Tests)
20. Rob Simmons (88 Tests)
21. Nick Phipps (67 Tests)
22. Bernard Foley (62 Tests)
23. Jack Maddocks (4 Tests)


Tupou to start in Sio’s 50th Test

Qantas Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has made four changes to his starting fifteen ahead of Australia’s Test against South Africa in Port Elizabeth on Saturday afternoon (local time).

Prop Taniela Tupou will earn his first Test start when he runs out at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium after six appearances off the bench to open his International career.

Tupou will bookend the scrum alongside Scott Sio who is set to notch his 50th Test cap.

Captain Michael Hooper returns to the side after being a late scratching from Australia’s 19-23 defeat to Argentina a fortnight ago and he’s joined by Ned Hanigan in the backrow.

In the other change, Adam Coleman re-gains his spot at lock after coming off the bench against Argentina on the Gold Coast.

Australia haven’t tasted victory in South Africa since 2011 but did earn a draw in the Republic last year, when both sides fought out a 27-all stalemate in Bloemfontein.

Saturday’s clash will be the first meeting between the two sides in Port Elizabeth since 1963, when South Africa won 22-6 to level the four-match Test series.

FOX SPORTS will showcase every game of the Mitsubishi Estate Rugby Championship LIVE with no ad-breaks during play and in HD.

All Qantas Wallabies matches will also be screened LIVE and free in HD on TEN and WIN Network and streaming on


Mitsubishi Estate Rugby Championship

Qantas Wallabies 13 v New Zealand 38 at ANZ Stadium, Sydney, Saturday 18 August
New Zealand 40 v Qantas Wallabies 12 at Eden Park, Auckland, Saturday 25 August 5.35pm AEST
Qantas Wallabies 23 v South Africa 18 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Saturday 8 September 8.05pm AEST
Qantas Wallabies 19 v 23 Argentina at Cbus Super Stadium, Gold Coast, Saturday 15 September 8.05pm AEST
South Africa v Qantas Wallabies at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth, Sunday 30 September 1.05am AEST
Argentina v Qantas Wallabies at Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium, Salta, Sunday 7 October 9.40am AEST

Related Posts