ROUND 12 Ulster vs Toyota Cheetahs

Feb 21 • General News, Guinness Pro14 • 637 Views • No Comments on ROUND 12 Ulster vs Toyota Cheetahs

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Former Ulsterman, Ruan Pienaar returns to Kingspan Stadium when he leads the Toyota Cheetahs onto the field. The action in Belfast kicks off at 19:35 (21:35 SA time) with a live broadcast on SuperSport 1, Premier Sports 2, eir sport Xtra, DAZN and

Coach Hawies Fourie made nine changes to the side from last week. In the front row, Boan Venter, Wilmar Arnoldi and Luan du Bruin switch places with Charles Marais, Joseph Dweba and Aranos Coetzee.

Sintu Manjezi returns from a shoulder injury and will be starting on lock with Walt Steenkamp. JP du Preez will be providing cover on the bench. The wings are Craig Barry and Rhyno Smith with Clayton Blommetjies on fullback.

The two sides will now look ahead to this crunch clash at the Kingspan Stadium on Saturday, both aiming to get their campaigns back on track. A late Luke Price penalty saw second-placed Ulster suffer an agonising 26-24 defeat at Ospreys last weekend and fall further behind leaders Leinster. There was also disappointment for the Toyota Cheetahs who had moved into Conference B’s top three with back-to-back wins over Isuzu Southern Kings only to then lose to Leinster.

The two sides have met on three previous occasions with each team winning once at home and sharing a 39-draw in Bloemfontein in September 2018.

Ulster vs Toyota Cheetahs, Saturday, 22 February 2020, 19:35 (21:35 SA time)
1 Boan Venter; 2 Wilmar Arnoldi; 3 Luan de Bruin; 4 Sintu Manjezi; 5 Walt Steenkamp; 6 Chris Massyn; 7 Junior Pokomela; 8 Jasper Wiese; 9 Ruan Pienaar (Captain); 10 Tian Schoeman; 11 Craig Barry; 12 Benhard Janse van Rensburg; 13 William Small-Smith; 14 Rhyno Smith; 15 Clayton Blommetjies .
16 Joseph Dweba; 17 Charles Marais; 18 Aranos Coetzee; 19 JP du Preez; 20 Aidon Davis; 21 Tian Meyer; 22 Louis Fouche; 23 Chris Smit.

Match officials: The referee for the match is Mike Adamson (SRU, 42nd Championship Appearance). He will be assisted by George Clancy (IRFU) and Sam Grove-White (SRU). The TMO is Andre McMenemy (SRU).

Players not available: The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury: Justin Basson (knee), Marnus van der Merwe (knee) and Oupa Mohoje (knee).

Related Posts